T5W : Most Hated Tropes

Hello y’all !

I just found out that today’s T5W topic was the Most Hated Tropes in books and since I really like this idea and that I have many things to say, here we are !

Top 5 Wednesdays are created by gingerreadslainey and If you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

I – Insta-love


Yeah this.

Alright alright alright.

So, why do I hate this ?

I think that pretty much like everyone else, I don’t like the fact that people thinks that you can love somebody that you don’t know at all. Of course you can be attracted by them, you can also idealize them and you can like them but love ? I really don’t think so.

I mean if you look at a definition of love (here from the website dictionary.reference.com) you will find something along those lines :

” love : a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friends”

And this attachment needs time to be deep enough to be called love. So please, don’t try to tell me that attirance is love and that you want to change your life for a complete starnger, thank you very much.

Examples of books that answer to that trope :

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, Existence and Fallen too Far by Abbi Glines


II – Teacher/Student Relationship

I don’t have much things to say about this. I found this unhealthy and I loathe when writers try to make me romantize those relationships.

Books’ example :

Slammed by Colleen Hoover and Losing it by Cora Carmack

III – The Poor Girl Taken Away In A Castle By A Prince (or Powerful Beautiful Male Protagonist)

I find this overdone and I am kind of sick of it. Maybe if for once it was the poor boy and not a girl… But even this I am not sure…

Examples of books that answer to that trope :

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (and I haven’t even read this), Throne of Glass and A Court Of Thorns and Rose by S.J Maas, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (not exactly in a castle but close to it) etc…

IV – The “I Am So Ugly With My Long Hair And Long Legs And My Blue Eyes”

I don’t like this for many reasons but most important of all because it teaches young girls (most of this is find in YA books) to have insecurities about themselves. As if because of commercials and magazine they didn’t have enough of those…

Examples of books that answer to that trope :

The majority of YA books like ACOTAR by S.J. Maas

V – The Badboy (or The Bad Billionaire)


As much as loads of people seems to think, being bullied in a relationship is not healthy or sexy and you have to stop it before it is too late. For example, you should be able to wear wathever you want without a complete imbecile telling you otherwise !

Examples of books that answer to that trope :

A lot of NA books or adult romances like Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire and Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

I have some other tropes that I am not a huge fan of like love-triangles for example but since I don’t hate all of them (I like the one in Shatter Me) I chose not to put it here.

Little disclaimer, the fact that a certain book answers to a trope that I hate does not mean that I hate the book.

Leave a Reply

