Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey

Leviathan Wakes is a science fiction space opera book. It follows two characters : Holden and Miller. The first is the executive officer of an ice miner spaceship and at the beginning of the book, he receives a SOS call from another ship named the Scopuli .While trying to find out what happened to this ship, Holden and his crew stumble upon a secret that could shattered their entire universe. Miller is a detective working on a kidnap job, he has to find the daughter of one of the richest families alive. However his search is going to unravel some unexpected facts and his story and Holden’s are going to cross.

After finishing The Martian by Andy Weir, I was in the mood for science fiction (and still am by the way) and since I happened to have this on my TBR shelf, I pick it up. I really enjoyed it, it was a super fun and fast-paced book even if the beginning did drag a tiny bit.

The plot is pretty intense and I was hooked almost right at the beginning. The characters were well done even if I had a preference for Miller’s part toward the end because I found that Holden was a little too “knight in a shining armor” sometimes. The side characters were also great (which doesn’t always happen in books unfortunetely) and created a great character dynamic. I must also say that I wasn’t not expected this book what it actually turned out to be. For example, it contains some elements that I would register as horror like zombies. Yep this book has zombies and they are not really your “nice” zombies. They are worse : they are vomit zombies. And they are really gross.  So don’t say I didn’t warn you ! 😉

As I said, I enjoyed this book but I did not love it especially because of some science parts where I found that I really had to suspend my incredulity. I think I am more a hard science type of person and I liked to be convinced that some stuff can actually happen ! 😛

However I would recommend this if you are looking for a fast and intense read that is going to keep you at the edge of your seat. Especially if you are not picky as I am when science is mentionned 😉

Rating : ★★★ 1/2

One thought on “Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey

Leave a Reply

