What I read this month and what I would like to read next

December is almost over so I decided that it was the time to show the things I managed (or not) to read. This month I finished ten novels, one short story and I dropped one book.

Here are all of the books that I finished :

This was a really great reading month so picking favorites is going to be hard. The ones that really stood out to me probably were those books :

 

Those two books are now two of my favorite books ever.

However, I have to make an honorable for those three books, that were also really fun and interesting reads :

DNF (Did Not Finish)

I DNF’d one book which was The Red Knight by Miles Cameron. I decided as an early resolution to drop books that I don’t enjoy. Life is too short to read bad books. I forced myself to read it half of it but the I realized that I was skimming every battle scenes (and they are a lot). This book has way to many POV that were not necessary for the story and I did not like at all how the women were portrayed. It was not very original because it followed the very classical Man vs the Wild trope. I found myself being a lot more interested by the bad guys than the ones we are supposed to like and since it is planned to be a five books series and that each book out is pretty massive, I decided to stop there.

13616278

Short fiction

I read only one short story this month which was Oral Argument by Kim Stanley Robinson. It was the first KSR work that I read and I really enjoyed it. It was a very short piece about the possible economic consequences of a promising invention : a tatoo-ink that would enables human to do photosynthesis. I think that the idea was great and that the possible consequences were very well thought out. I would have liked it to be a little longer but it is always my problem with short fiction. This work was published by Tor.com and you can read it for free here.

What I plan on reading next

I don’t know for sure of what I am going to read but I would like to get to The Bonehunters by Steven Erikson which is the sixth tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, the only problem I have with this book is its lenght, I don’t mind 500+ pages books but this one is more than 1200 pages long… I would also like to read Only the Stones Survive by Morgan Llewyn and The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu that I received from Netgalley. Also, I would like to reread Hyperion by Dan Simmons. I have other books in mind but if I only managed to get to those mentionned, I would still be happy.

4 thoughts on “What I read this month and what I would like to read next

  1. Great reading month. I loved the Pierce Brown book and can’t wait to read the conclusion of that one. The Erikson – I bought the first book I’ve ever owned of his about six months ago but still haven’t read – it’s so chunky it puts me off a little I confess!
    Shards of Heaven – I just loved it. Something really appealed to me about it and I thought the author was very subtle about weaving in the fantasy elements.
    Hope your 2016 is most excellent.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • I would like to do a post about my thoughts the Malazan Book of the Fallen series so far, I don’t think that it is for everyone because all the books are huge, the first book is pretty confusing and it takes several books to get into it (I needed two) but it’s now one of my favorite series of all time. I was pleasantly surprised about Shards of Heaven, I can’t wait for the sequel ! 🙂 As for the conclusion of the Red Rising trilogy, I really want to read it but at the same time, I am very anxious about how Brown will finish it, I hope that he won’t end up reading everyone… I also wish you a great year 😀

      Like

  2. I’m excited to see The Grace of Kings and Hyperion on your to-read-next list! Hyperion was a real eye-opening experience for me, and I understand now why it’s considered one of Simmons’ classics. It made me look at time travel in a whole new light.

    Like

Leave a Reply

