Graft by Matt Hill

 

25488846

 “In Matt Hill’s gritty new novel, the near future is bleak — especially in Manchester. Local mechanic Sol is forced to steal old vehicles for spares. But when Sol’s partner impulsively jacks a luxury model, Sol is caught up in a nightmarish trans-dimensional human trafficking conspiracy.

Hidden in the stolen car’s boot is a mute, three-armed woman called Y. She’s had her memory erased and has been heavily “augmented” in another world before being taken on a harrowing journey towards a guarded wormhole in a decommissioned nuclear facility. Once in Britain, she’ll be a bodyguard for a wealthy Londoner named Havelock — who expects his delivery at all costs.

Now Sol and Y are on the run from both Y’s traffickers and their faithful “products”. With the help of a sociopathic hitman and Sol’s ex-girlfriend, they must uncover the true, terrifying extent of the trafficking operation, or it’s all over.

Not that there was much hope to begin with. ”

I DNF’d this book at 51%.

I usually never review books that I gave up on, but this one I DNF’d because of an interesting reason so it is still going to have its own little review.

I didn’t hate this book, I actually liked lot of different scenes : I found them to be written in a way where I could picture them vividly in my head, almost as of I was watching a movie. This usually doesn’t happen to me while reading since I tend to picture vaguely what is happening but, with some scenes of Graft, I had the feeling that I was watching a Hollywood blockbuster.

However, the problem was (still is in fact) that I couldn’t understand 90% of what was actually happening.

If it’s not your first visit of my blog, you probably know by now that I’m French. English is not my first langage and I’m no fluent in it.

I can say without feeling too pretentious that I am not bad at it even if I know that I tend to do lots of grammar errors and that my conjugation is far from perfect. However, I always liked to speak English and I never thought that I was especially horrible at it (not like Spanish haha).

This book made me feel extra dumb.

I swear that sometimes when I read it, I felt like it was not written in English at all.

Let me tell you why.

This story takes place in Manchester, in 2025, but in Manchester nonetheless. And it is full of British slang. And, I realized that I knew almost nothing about British slang, especially not some expressions used in Manchester.

To say the least; I just found out that if someone dropped me in any suburbs of Manchester, I probably wouldn’t be able to have a conversation with an inhabitant…

And I feel very frustrated about this. First of, because I feel that if I, at least, could understand half of what was happening, I would have really, really enjoyed this book.

I probably wouldn’t recommend this book to you if like me you are not a native english speaker or if you don’t like to read dialogues filled with slang. Otherwise, if you enjoy dystopian/thriller books, you’ll probably end up loving it.

 

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Graft will be out in the bookstores the 2nd of February from Angry Robots.

 

5 thoughts on “Graft by Matt Hill

  1. This sounds like a very cool book. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy it more, but your review has been very helpful, since I’ve decided to hold off on reading until I know more about it. The point about the British slang is very handy – I think I should be able to figure my way through it, but it’s so good to know beforehand!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I would have liked to enjoy it more since the ideas and the setting were great.
      At first I didn’t want to do a review because I DNF it but I thought that the problems I had with it may interest other people, so I am glad that it did 🙂
      Maybe it’s not as difficult as I thought it was but it frustated me a lot! I never struggled this much to understand a book written in English before, even my first one… 😦

      Like

  2. I’m American and I sometimes struggle with British slang, so don’t feel bad! Most Angry Robot books are written by UK writers so you can expect lots of that. I do love this cover and was curious about the book, but I had too many February review books to fit it in. And by the way, your English is very good:-D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

