Top 5 Wednesday : Top 5 Buzz Words

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

I haven’t done a T5W in a long time but I like this topic so here it is ! This week’s topic is the Top 5 “Buzz Words” which are basically words that make you want to read/buy a book. At first I couldn’t come up with a single one but then, I realized that I had a lot of those πŸ˜‰

  • Mythology

Pretty much any book with any mythology will intrigue me, especially Greek/Roman/Egyptian/Norse/Irish mythology. One of the last book that I read because of this ‘buzz word’ was :

25632756

  • Alternate History

I really love history but I think that I love alternate history even more. It’s one of the reason I want to read United States of Japan by Peter Tieryas which is an alternate history where the Nazis won WWII.

25809801

  • Assassins/Thieves/Gods

Basically any books that combined those three elements is a book that I am probably going to add to my TBR immediately. If you like those types of characters, The Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Steven Erikson is for you !

55399

  • Political intrigues

I love those, especially when it is in a fantasy or sci-fi setting. I can’t recommend The Traitor Baru Cormorant enough for this . When I heard it was heavily focused on politics, I added to my TBR immediately and it was my favorite book of 2015. I can’t recommend it enough!

23444482

  • Epic/Dark/Complex

If a book is described as a “dark,complex and epic tale”, I want to read it. I could speak again of The Malazan Book of the Fallen or The Traitor Baru Cormorant but I am going with The Chronicles of the Unhewn Throne by Brian Staveley and the Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown.

 

What about you ? Do you have “buzz words” ? πŸ™‚

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Top 5 Buzz Words

  1. Alternate History takes skill from an author to convince history lovers like me to consider another route for a historical event. It is a cool genre when done properly. I also like mythology and I suspect because it reminds me of History, it is usually appealing to me in films as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

