All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

25372801

All the Birds in the Sky follows the story of two characters, Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead who form an unlikely friendship in middleschool. However life,a mysterious assassin (and maybe the fact that Patricia is a witch while Laurence is the inventor of a two-seconds time machine) are going to separate the two of them.

They did not think they are going to see each other again. Except that of course, they do.

Laurence is now a very famous engeneer working on a project that could literally swallow the Earth and Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, a school of magic, and tries to help people using her incredible abilities.

They don’t know it yet but they are going to save the world. Or maybe destroy it.

 

All the Birds in the Sky was on my most anticipated releases of 2016 post where I described it as “Hogwarts meets NASA”. Of course it’s not exactly what this book was (because I had not read it yet and I am not an oracle infortunetely)but I wasn’t entirely wrong either. This book is going to enchant both the fantasy and sci-fi nerd in you.

I finished All the Birds in the Sky yesterday and all I could say about it pretty much was  “stunning, gorgeous, amazing, enchanting, fantastic, heartbreacking and heartwarming” on repeat. Yeah.

I am now going to try to do something a little more detailled. (If I can.)

I loved this book so much I could literally hug it. I know that it may not be 100% perfect but I don’t care, it’s one of those books where you try hard to explain why you love it so much to everyone but you don’t know how to.

First of all, the concept of the whole story was great, I don’t usually like blend of SF and fantasy, but when they’re done well, they’re really funny and interesting.

However what really sold me on this book was the friendship. Laurence and Patricia aren’t exactly perfect as individuals even if they try very hard. But, when they are together, they really bring out the best of each other. Their relationship is based on understanding, dialogue, respect and friendship. The perfect cocktail.

The book is divided in four parts, the first two focuses on their time in middleschool and their friendship as children. I think this might be my favorites parts in the book because I felt like everything felt real (maybe not the parts about witchcraft but, we don’t know it’s not because I did not received my letter for Hogwarts seven years ago that it doesn’t exist), especially their visions of the world and adulthood. Thoses parts reminded me about my own reflections as a child on how I didn’t want to be a grownup because it did not seems like a good time at all. I also appreciated how the theme of bullying was handled and again, how realistic it was depicted.

The writing style was very direct (so if you are a huge fan of lyrical prose, it might not be fo you) but it fit the story really well.

As I mentionned this book still has its flaws. The main problem our characters had to solve is that the Earth is falling apart: the entire world is on the edge of war and natural disasters are taking place everywhere. Since the story takes place in our world in a nearly future, I would have liked to see the causes of those phenomenons but we don’t really learn how or why it is happening, which was pretty frustrating. However, the moment I understood that we were not going to get those infos, I wasn’t bothered anymore it stopped influencing my enjoyment of the book.

 

 

Anyway, I really loved this book and at this point, I want everyone to read it. I am pretty sure that I am going to buy a copy for my dad (since I have this on my Kindle and I am not lending my baby to anyone, even my dad.)(Especially not my dad.)

I know it’s a little bit early to say this but I would not be surprised if All the Birds in the Sky manage to have a spot in my list of best books at the end of 2016.

Highly recommend.

 

★★★★★

5 thoughts on “All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

  1. Argh, I’m torn. About half the people I know who has read this loved it, others DNF’ed/hated it. I was really excited about this book last year, but after everything I’ve seen I’m going to wait a little longer to make my decision. Thanks for your input, it’s definitely swaying me towards “go for it!” 🙂

    Like

    • I didn’t know that this book had so many mixed reviews, I didn’t read any review (good or bad) before picking it up but I can understand why you want to wait a little before reading it.
      I really hope that you do (to see where you stand with it) but if you don’t, that’s okay, there are so many books out there and we can’t possibly read them all 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

