January Wrap-Up and February Reading Plans

January is now over so it is the time to share the things that I’ve read (or try to).

I am pretty happy with the number of books I managed to read especially because it was the month university started again. However, in November, I applied for another school, I got in (which is great!) but it is starting at the end of February so I find myself with a lot more of free time (even if I still go to all my lectures, yes I know, I’m supposed to be on holydays and I still go to school on my free time because but what can I say, it is interesting). Anyway, all this to say that I had a lot of time to read and I very happy with that.

Books read

Best books of the month

Hyperion was reread and it was even better the second time around! The Grace of Kings was almost a five stars read and I can’t wait for The Wall of Storms which should be coming out this fall. As for All the Birds in the Sky, I can’t recommend it enough, it was my first five stars read of the year (I don’t include Hyperion here because, it was a reread) and I utterly loved it 😀

What were your favorite books of the month?

DNF

  • Graft by Matt Hill
  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova

I explained why I did not finish Graft here, as for Air Awakens by Elise Kova, it was just a very bad book in term of characters, romance, worldbuilding and story so I DNF’d toward the 75% mark.

What I plan on reading next

February is a great month in term of book releases: two of my most anticipated books are coming out this month! The first one is, of course, Morning Star by Pierce Brown, the third and final book in the Red Rising trilogy. My second most anticipated book is The Alchemy of Chaos by Marshall Ryan Maresca, the second book in the Maraudaine series. I am 100% sure that I am going to devour those two books.

I would also like to read my egalley of United States of Japan by Peter Tieryas (coming out the 1st of March) that I received courtesy of Netgalley. I would also like to get to Anathem by Neal Stephenson, The City & the City by China Miéville, Europe in Autumn by Dave Hutchinson, Inda by Sherwood Smith and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. It is a pretty ambitious pile of books so I don’t know if I will read them all but I really want to!

 

Anyway, I hope that you all had a great month and that you’ll read amazing things in February! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up and February Reading Plans

Leave a Reply

