Top 5 Wednesday : Biggest Badasses

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is Biggest Badasses and it was difficult to choose only five so I decided to cheat a little and pick five books/series with the best badasses because it allows me to mention a lot more of characters.

  • The Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne by Brian Staveley

Basically everyone in Valyn’s Kettral, they all are deadly soldiers/spies and they are amazing. I have to say that Valyn is my favorite badass in this series even if Gwenna, Annik and Pyrre are awesome too.

17910124

  • The Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown

Especially Darrow but you don’t want to mess with Sevro or Mustang either. This trilogy is going to break your heart but if you are looking for epic battle scenes and deadly characters, you won’t be disappointed.

15839976

  • The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

If you are looking for assassins, thieves, gods, gods of assassins, please go read this. I have two favorites but I can think of many other supercool badasses. Anyway my picks are Apsalar and Cotillion, the first is an assassin, the former is the Patron of Assassins and they are both BAD-ASS. Everytime they make an appearance, they are completely awesome. Believe me you don’t want to bother them because they’ll gut you without even looking.

55399

  • The Broken Earth trilogy by N.K. Jemisin

This may sounds like an odd choice but believe me, this book is full of badasses. Basically in this world, some people are orogenes, which means that they can manipulate Earth (and cause earthquakes or tsunamis ). And when orogenes fight, they are pretty freakin’ awesome.

19161852

  • The Expanse by James S.A. Corey

I am not caught up with this series yet (I have just read the first two books) but it is already full with badasses like Bobby a Martian Marine or Avasarala, an important member of the U.N. Parliament which is now ruling the Earth. Avasarala is not exactly a warrior but she can definitely kill you with her sharp words, and I think she’s one of the most frightening character of the whole series! 😉

8855321

 

What about you? Any favorite badasses?

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Biggest Badasses

    • She’s my favorite character in the Expanse so far 😀
      As for the TV show, I just watched the first episode and I wasn’t a huge fan, I am going to give a try to the second episode soon(ish) because I really want to like it bu yeah, so far I am not convinced. But yes, the actress has a really deep voice and I think that it does suit Avasarala’s character pretty well!

      Like

  1. Avasarala is also my favorite character in the Expanse. You do not mess with her! I was really disappointed how they toned her down for the show, but I understand why they did it (can’t have her brand of ear-bending profanity on SyFy channel, after all!) But I agree, the actress is perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

