February Wrap-Up and March Reading Plans

February was a pretty weird month both in term of reading and in life in general. I changed school and I moved far away from home. I read three great books and three meh ones and I haven’t been able to finish a single novel in more than a week.

Also I’m sorry for the lack of presence recently both in term of content that I usually post on my blog and in term on comments on other blogs. I don’t have wifi in my new place so I’ll try to catch up during the weekends.

Books read

Best books of the month

My favorite books of the month definitely were Europe in Autumn, its sequel Europe at Midnight and United States of Japan (it’s coming out very soon now!!). The funy thing is that all those of books are SF/dystopian books and I am in the mood for those at the moment so if you have any adult book of those genres to recommend, I am all ears!

DNF

I gave up on two books this month. The first one was Inda by Sherwood Smith, I got halfway through and then I realized that I didn’t care at all about the characters. Every time something bad happened, I was just like “oh okay” and I like to feel invested in my story so I stopped reading. It wasn’t awful, just not for me (also the writing style was pretty bad…).

The second book I DNF was Anathem by Neal Stephenson. I gave up on it because I wasn’t in the mood and I didn’t want to force myself to read read it, especially because I know that when I’ll be in the right mind set, I am probably going to love it. I will give it another try during the summer I think.

 

Short Fiction

This month, I read an entire issue (111) of the Clarkesworld Magazine. I did a Short Fiction Fiction Sunday where I talked about it that you can found here. I really enjoyed this issue, I mean, as always, I didn’t loved every single story but I think that, even for the one that I didn’t liked that much, they all had cool concepts.

Besides Clarkesworld issue 111, I read three other short stories (that were also published by Clarkesworld), I reviewed them here and they were The Fixer by Paul McCauley, Hair by Adam Roberts and When Your Child Strays From God by Sam J. Miller.

My favorite short story of the month definitely was When Your Child Strays From God by Sam J. Miller, please go read this, you can find this here. I would recommend it even if you’re not a fan of short fiction in general. I promise you that you won’t regret it! 😀

 

Currently Reading

I am currently reading By Light Alone by Adam Roberts, The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu (which may easily become my favorite collection of short stories), Morning Star by Pierce Brown and Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon.

I hope to finish them all in March.

 

What I plan on reading next

March is going to be a very busy month that’s for sure, I don’t know if I am going to be able to read a lot but I am definitely eager to read some books that I received for review like The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories that I’ve started and that I am already loving, Snakewood by Adrian Selby and Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente. I also want to read other books that I bought recently like Bald New World by Peter Tieryas because I really loved United States of Japan and I want to read other things by him, The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard and The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi.

It’s a lot of books and since I am going to work a lot for the next 4-5 month (yes I am already looking forward the next holidays :P), I may not be able to read a lot…

 

What about you? How was your month?

6 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up and March Reading Plans

  1. You’ve really got me curious about The Paper Menagerie. I wasn’t planning on reading it, because my review pile is so huge, but maybe…I’m also interested in The United States of Japan. Sounds like you have some great books coming up!

    Like

    • The Paper Menagerie is great so far, I already read short stories by Liu before and I enjoyed them all but this collection is incredibly solid, I am a bit over halfway through, and I wouldn’t be able to rate my two least favorite stories less than a 3.5/5 which is saying something !
      As for USJ, please read it, it really is an amazing novel 😀

      Like

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed United States of Japan especially since I know you didn’t have much luck with your last Angry Robot book (Graft, I believe?) I’ll probably check out the USoJ audiobook, because now I’m intrigued. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

