T5W : Books I did not finish

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

118368

This week’s topic is pretty self explanatory, we are talking about books we gave up on.

  • By Light Alone by Adam Roberts

This is a case of “it’s not you it’s me”. This book was full of interesting ideas but I wasn’t in the right mind set for it. It has a cool premise and the writing style was good but the main characters were pretty stupid (they were supposed to) but at the time I tried to read it, I didn’t have the patience for it. I may try to give it another chance in the future though.

  • Anathem by Neal Stephenson

Also a case of “it’s not you, it’s me”. This book is tough one,I couldn’t read more than 10 pages in one go. I do want to read it because I think that if I persevere I might end up loving it but, yeah, now is not the time. I was supposed to read it with my dad (who started it back in December), he’s still reading it, slowly but surely and he’s liking it now, which is a good sign. I think that I will give it another try in July when I’ll finally be on vacation!

  • Inda by Sherwood Smith

This book wasn’t bad but it wasn’t good either. It felt very much like a debut-novel, the worldbuilding was very confusing and I just didn’t care about any of the characters. I can understand why some people love this series but it is just not for me. If I had read it five years ago, I would I enjoyed it a lot more though.

  • Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

Again, not a bad book but I just didn’t care about the story. I always had to force myself to read a couple of pages and when I realized that the only thing I was thinking while reading it was “I want to read another book”, I put it down.

  • The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

I already talked about this book on this blog so I am not going to say much more but, this book was boring, I didn’t like how women were portrayed and they were too many characters which was very confusing. I gave up on it around the 50% mark because I wanted to read everything except it.

 

What about you? Did you DNF a book recently? If so, why?

 

10 thoughts on “T5W : Books I did not finish

  1. Hang on there with Anathem, it turned me into a fiction reader again! It helped that I was pretty interested in its philosophical themes at the time, but still, it’s an adventure novel too…

    Like

  2. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the books people DNF tend to be the longer ones. I’m not in the habit of DNFing, but if I were, I’d be more likely to push on with a 300 page book than with one that’s 600-700. There are some big uns here, like Anathem and The Red Knight. At some point I would still like to check out the latter, but I’ve seen too many mixed reviews to put it as high priority for now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah true, I finished The House of Shattered Wings about a week ago (and spoiler alert I didn’t like it at all) but since it was pretty short I forced myself to finish it, if it had been a 600+ pages books, it would have ended on my DNF shelf. I still don’t know why I didn’t give up on it since I didn’t like it at all…

      Like

Leave a Reply

