March Wrap Up and April Reading Plans

March was a weird month, both in terms of reading and personal life. I read 12 books which is a lot more than I expected to since I’ve been doing a lot of works for school. I have pretty “heavy” days at school (up to 10 hours a day) and I usually need to work at least 2 hours after that to do homeworks which means that I don’t have much time to read at all, so I don’t really know how I managed to read 12 things (plus a bunch of short stories). Oh well, I am not going to complain. Of those books, two were great, two were good and the rest were pretty average hence my average rating of the month : 3.125/5.

 

Books read in March

  • Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #2) ★★
  • Morning Star by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #3) ★★★★
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab (Shades of Magic #1) ★★★
  • The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu ★★★★★
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor ★★★
  • Snakewood by Adrian Selby ★★★1/2
  • The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard (Dominion of the Fallen #1) ★★
  • Thor’s Serpent by K.A. Armstrong and M.A. Marr (Blackwell Pages #3) ★★
  • The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi ★★★★1/2 (review to come)
  • Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat (Captive Prince #1) ★★1/2
  • Prince’s Gambit by C.S. Pacat (Captive Prince #2) ★★★
  • Kings Rising C.S. Pacat (Captive Prince #3) ★★★

As you can see I binge read the Captive Prince Trilogy, it was very addictive (I read the whole trilogy in less than 24h since it’s so fast paced and the books are very short), it was a good series, the first book is pretty weird but since everyone kept mentionning that the second one was way better, I decided to continue on and I am happy that I did. I am mentionning this here because I don’t think that I am going to review the trilogy since I don’t that many things to say.

 

Favorite Books of the Month

Without any doubts, The Paper Menagerie & Other Stories by Ken Liu and The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi!

Short Fiction

I read a bunch of short stories and if you are interested, you can check my only Short Fiction Sunday of the month here  🙂

DNF

9281340

The book was pretty good but I wasn’t in the mood for it so I decided to put it aside for a while.

What I would like to read next

I may participate in the Read your E-Reader read-a-thon hosted by the booktube channel Bookworms Buddy because the list of challenges is pretty cool :

1. Read a book of a specific length – 300 or more pages : The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi
2. Read a book you got for free : Fire With Fire by  Charles Gannon or Central Station by Lavie Tidhar, I don’t know yet.
3. Read a book you got on loan from your library : I won’t do this challenge because I don’t have access to any library at the moment.
4. Read a book that is first in a series : Clash of Eagles by Alan Smale
5. Read a book that is a sequel : The Last Mortal Bond by Brain Staveley
6. Read a book with a white cover – (representing diamond for the month of April) : Conservations of Shadows by Yoon Ha Lee (It’s a bit of a cheat since I started it back in March but, oh well)
7. Read a book that feels like Spring :  The Alchemy of Chaos by Marshall Ryan Maresca because I also read the first book in this series in spring.
8. Read a book with a first time author for you : The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
9. Read a book that is a stand alone : Clade by James Bradley
10. Read a book you have had over a year :  Since I got my Kindle in September, I am going to read the first book that I bought and that I have not read yet : The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
11. Read a book most recently downloaded : Signal to Noise by Silvia Morreno Garcia
12. Read a book set in another country : Bald New World by Peter Tieryas (it is set in China and America, not France so I am good to go :P)
13. Read a book out of your comfort zone : Monstrous Little Voices by Jonathan Barnes, Adrain Tchaikovski, Emma Newman, Foz Meadows, Kate Heartfield because I never read any Shakespeare and I am a bit afraid to be completely confused since I know next to nothing about him and his plays (except Romeo & Juliet).

 

How was your month? Did you read any great books? I really enjoyed The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi which is a cli-fi (climate fiction) novel, do you have any recommendation of good cli-fi novels? I am in the mood to read all of them right now 😛

 

12 thoughts on “March Wrap Up and April Reading Plans

  1. Great month. I’ve always fancied The Water Knife but just never got round to it.
    I like your challenge – I loved Monstrous Little Voices – it just really gelled with me for some reason.
    No.10 – I would be spoilt for choice I think!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Yay 😀
      I really enjoyed Snakewood, the beginning was hard to get through but it was worth it in my opinion!
      Thanks! I don’t know how I did it, maybe it’s because when I am on tight schedule I managed my time in a better way than when I’m on vacation… I don’t know but I am not going to complain 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m dying to read The Water Knife, I’ve heard so many great things about it. And Paper Tigers is also on my list! I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy House of Shattered Wings. I still want to read it but just haven’t had time.

    Like

    • I think that you have good chances to enjoy The Water Knife, it’s a really thought-provocking book and the story is gripping!
      As for the Paper Menagerie, it’s now my favorite collection of story!
      I was really expectiong to love de Bodard’s novel, but oh well, I can’t like all the books in the world infortunetely… If you read it, I hope that you’ll enjoy more than I did!

      Like

  3. Busy, busy month, indeed! But as long as the books are good, it’s a nice kind of busy 😉

    Thanks for sharing that BookTube channel, I’m going to give it a look and see if I can enter some of the challenges – and I look forward to your comments on The Lies of Locke Lamora: it was one of my favorite books.

    Like

    • I heard of this channel because of the read-a-thon but I haven’t watched any of its videos yet. I first heard of this read-a-thon from Nicole’s Adventure in SFF 🙂
      I’ve been meaning to get to The Lies of Locke Lamora for more than two years now so I really need to read it. I hope that I am going to love it 😀

      Like

  4. I loved The Water Knife! And I just recently finished The Paper Menagerie and agree it was really great. I hope to have the review written soon, but I definitely need time for the stories to percolate. So much food for thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

