T5W: Rainy Day Reads

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is pretty cool! Today we are talking about our favorite rainy days reads so basically the best books to read under a blanket and/or with a hot drink when the weather is ugly.

It’s a pretty funny topic for me because, I just moved and in my new town, the weather is always bad. Seriously in a month, I think that I only had five days without rain. It is raining now by the way. If you want to have a sunny day in France, I would only recommend the south…

Anyway, here are my top 5 rainy day reads !

  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I really love this trilogy and I would recommend it at all time but it would make a great rainy day read. You will be so entranced by the story that you won’t even hear the rain anymore! πŸ˜‰

  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

This is a literary fiction book set in the New Zealand during the gold rush and it is amazing. It’s a 800+ pages book but I couldn’t put it down. I actually read in it when I was in vacation in Spain so not exactly somewhere where the weather is awful but it would make an incredible ‘under the blanket with a mug of tea’ read!

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This book has a pretty dark atmosphere and if you’re like me and that you don’t want to read horror because you’re scared of your own shadow but you still want to read a book with a creepy-ish feel to it, I can’t recommend this enough!

I read this very recently and as I said before, it is always raining in my new city so, I basically read this during rainy days and under my blanket and it was perfect, so yeah, it makes an amazing rainy day read. πŸ˜›

This is a dark and thrilling read and it is perfect for rainy days. It is basically in the title πŸ˜‰

 

What about you? Do you have any great rainy day reads to recommend?

6 thoughts on “T5W: Rainy Day Reads

  1. I don’t read as many anthologies as I should, but I have to say they are pretty good for a rainy day! Paper Menagerie would be a perfect, since there are so many different kinds of stories in it, but hopefully the melancholy mood of some of them won’t get you down too much!

    Like

  2. I have GOT to find time to read The Raven Cycle books! I didn’t realize they were that dark, which is my kind of book. I almost wish I got more rain where I live (we are actually having to conserve water because we’re in a drought) so my “rainy day reads” mostly happen in all kinds of weather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

