April Wrap-Up and May Reading Plans

I am so glad April is over! It was a month full of exams and it was pretty stressful… The worst thing is that, it wasn’t even my finals: I’ll have the same horror at the end of June.. (Guess what? My birthday is the day I start my finals. I am sooo glad.)

Anyway, because of that, I didn’t manage to read as many novels as I would have like. However, I read a pretty good number of short works, 51 to be exact, so I am happy about that at least. Almost half of them I read from The Year’s Best Science and Fantasy volume 10 edited Jonathan Strahan that I received for review from Netgalley. So far, it is a very good collection but expect a review closer to the release date (beginning of May)!

I am behind on reviews and I don’t know if I’ll be able to catch-up on everything… I won’t review Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Stiefvater because I want to do a review of the whole series in May!

Books read

  • Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente ★★★ 1/5
  • The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi ★ 1/5
  • Bald New World by Peter Tieryas ★★★★
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch ★★★

 

SFF magazines/collection of short stories

Favorite read of the month

29546936

I read some good books but they weren’t that memorable infortunately. I think that the thing I prefered reading this month probably  was Interzone #263 because so far I think that it might have been the best SF magazine I managed to read! I really loved the fiction but the essays (especially Nina Allan’s one) and the book reviews were amazing!

DNF

As I mentionned before, I did not finish Conservation of Shadows by Yoon Ha Lee. I read about five or six stories and, I do find her writing beautiful, however, all the stories were pretty confusing and I didn’t want to force myself to finish this collection. I still look forward to her upcoming novel, Ninefox Gambit coming out in June from Solaris but I don’t think that her short fiction is for me…

Currently Reading & May Reading Plans

I am currently reading three books, Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer, The Year’s best Science Fiction and Fantasy volume 10 that I mentionned earlier and The Man In the High Castle by Philip K. Dick. For now, I am enjoying all three so that’s pretty good! 🙂

I would also like to read Central Station by Lavie Tidhar and Children of Earth and Sky by Guy Gavriel Kay that I both need to read and review asap!

I bought a good number of books recently and I would like to read the majority of them pretty soon but I don’t know which one I’ll be starting first, probably The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater but I am not 100% sure.

 

What about you? How was your month? Any great books?

8 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up and May Reading Plans

  1. Thanks to your info about Catherynne M. Valente’s Radiance, I now know about its interesting format. I’m even more curious to check it out now! Hope you’re still enjoying Too Like the Lightning. It’s not the kind of book I’d usually pick up for entertainment, so it was a bit tough going for me at times, but I ended up liking it a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

