T5W: Book Theme Songs

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

 

This week’s topic is about songs that we associate with different books whether it’s because the tone or the lyrics fit the story or because we listened to it a lot while reading a certain book.

I watched Spectre the day I started Luna:New Moon and for me this song suits the book absolutely perfectly. I will definitely listen to it on repeat while reading to Luna: Wolf Moon later this year! πŸ˜€

  • Tiny Cities by Flume and The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante Wilson

I’ve been listening to Skin, Flume’s new album on repeat since its release five days ago and I am obsessed with half of the songs. I don’t really know why but I found that the whole album really suited the tone of the Sorcerer of The Wildeeps. And for me this portion of the lyrics is a good representation of Demane’s character:

“Can I ever get ahead of what I want and what I need?
And what do I have to do to get away from what is killing me?
How can I convince myself to not believe in what I know?
When honesty is dominos falling uphill as we go”

I don’t really know why I associate the book and the song but I do. It might be because I listened to this on repeat when I moved a couple months ago and I read the book during the same period. It’s strange but, oh well. (But really, I don’t think that they have much in common πŸ˜› )

  • Victory, Two Steps from Hell and Memories of Ice by Steven Erikson

This song is the definition of epic. I love Two Steps from Hell and this track is one of my favorite. I highly recommend listening to this while reading epic fantasy and especially while reading a Malazan book. They’re already epic but when you add this kind of music? It’s another thing entirely! πŸ˜€

  • Maybe Someday by Griffin Peterson and Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

I cannot do this post without mentionning this song because it had been written for the book of the same name. I am not a huge fan of Hoover anymore (not since reading her last two books that I found awful) but I really like the fact that she sometimes works in collaboration with artists. Maybe Someday is about music and she has done a collaboration with Griffin Peterson so that you can actually listen to the songs mentionned in the book. I really like most of the songs and I think that they really suit the story. πŸ™‚

 

I hoped that you discovered some new songs or at least, that you had fun listening to some of them! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “T5W: Book Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

