My 2016 BookTubeAThon TBR

It’s summer and summer means Booktubeathon!

If you don’t already know this, BookTube is the name of the community of people posting videos about books on Youtube. Every summer, this community participates in a seven day read-a-thon and it’s very fun to do. This year, it starts July 18th and end July 24th. As usual, it is hosted by Ariel Bisset and the main goal is to read seven books in seven days. However, Ariel created other mini-challenges so I am going to list them with what books I think I may read for the read-a-thon. I have several options for most of the challenges because I am a mood reader and I want to have several choices. 🙂

Challenges

 

1/ Read a book with yellow on the cover.

The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick.

11872850

I started it a while ago but I put it aside because I was reading a ton of other things. I really enjoyed what I read of it though and I want to start it again!

2/ Read a book only after sunset.

Bodies of Water by V.H. Leslie

29069543

I don’t read a lot after sunset so I decided to go for a novella. I don’t know much about it (I read or watch a positive review of it a while ago) but the cover is freakin’ gorgeous.

3/ Read a book you discovered through Booktube.

Easy. I am going to go with The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Beckie Chambers.

24956528

Everyone on BookTube is raving about this and it’s part of my Read The Arthur C. Clarke 2016 Shortlist Project so it’s the perfect choice really!

4/ Read a book by one of your favourite authors.

The Last Mortal Bond by Brian Staveley or Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor.

      20753341   7767021

I really need to finish Staveley’s trilogy but The Last Mortal Bond is pretty massive so I don’t know if it’s perfect for a read-a-thon… If I am not in the mood for it, I’ll go with Who Fears Death by Okorafor since I really liked the prequel that I read some months ago, The Book of Phoenix.

5/ Read a book that is older than you.

11253675

Again I am not sure if it’s a pertinent choice for a read-a-thon but The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons. But I could also go for Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes.

6/ Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation.

Minority Report by Philip K. Dick.

65018

I watched the movie years ago and I loved it, however I never read the actual story and I really want to rewatch the movie so it’s perfect!

7/ Read seven books.

Since most of the books on this list are pretty big or dense, I don’t think that I will be able to finish seven books. However, if I do, here are some of my options: The Alchemy of Chaos by Marshall Ryan Maresca, Of Sorrow and Such by Angela Slatter, The Harlequin by Nina Allan or The Written by Ben Galley.

That’s a lot of books, if I managed to read three or four of them, I’ll be happy but who knows, I might be able to read seven!

What about you? Are you participating? 🙂

5 thoughts on “My 2016 BookTubeAThon TBR

Leave a Reply

