T5W: Books You Feel Differently About

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and  is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.


Topic

Talk about the books that you feel differently about after you’ve had time to think about them or re-read them. These are books that you gave a low rating, and then thought about it or re-read it and ended up loving. Or a book that you loved when you first read it, but after you’ve thought about it or you’ve gotten older, you see how many problems it had.

  • All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

I read this book when it first came out right at the beginning of the year and I LOVED it. I gave it five stars and I was sure that it was going to be one of my favorite book of the year. However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it wasn’t that excellent. It is a very good book, I liked a lot it but, after reading some really awesome books this year, I don’t consider it to be one of my favorite reads of the year.

  • Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

I first read this book back in 2014 and I adored it, I re-read it in 2015 and I had troubles finishing it. I had a ton of issues with the characters who were constantely making dumb decisions, I found the whole plot super cheesy and the writing pretty bad. I think that it’s because, when I first read it, I hadn’t read that much books written in English before and that I couldn’t see when a book was well-written or not. I am pretty sure that if I had to read it again, I would give it one star.

  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

The Throne of Glass is one of my guilty pleasure series. It’s not that great but I love it. However, even if I loved QoS while reading it, I have to admit that when I thought a little more about it, this book isn’t great. The characters are incredibly inconsistent and Celeana/Aelin completely changed for no reason except that she changed her name. I will read the next book to see if it is getting worse or not but I am a bit scared…

  • The Original Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

I read the original trilogy (The Final Empire, The Wel of Ascension and The Hero of Ages) back in 2014, I liked the first and third book quite a bit, however, the more I hear people prasing this series the less I like it. It’s a good trilogy, the ending is amazing but I don’t think that it is the best adult fantasy out there and I think that it is really overhyped.

  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

So far I only mentionned books that I liked a lot initially, well, it’s not the case of The Catcher in the Rye at all. I read it for an English class in highschool and, oh my, I despised it. It was almost painfull to read actually. It took me like three months to finish and it’s not even 300 pages long. I couldn’t relate to the main character at all. What changed? Well I realized that I actually shared some character traits with Holden Caulfield and that’s probably why I hated the book so much. It’s hard to read a bok where you recognize some your worst flaws and enjoy it you know?

 

What about you? 🙂

8 thoughts on “T5W: Books You Feel Differently About

  1. I feel the same way with Maybe Someday! I first loved it, but now I can’t really read ANY CoHo book… they feel all the same for me. I’m so sad that your love for Mistborn has changed! I read the first book about a year ago and the second back a month ago and I’m really enjoying the series, though it’s SUPER long.

    Like

  2. Always a problem with books read at the beginning of the year – you read better books later on and they get bumped off the top reads list 🙂

    And I agree with the original Mistborn. It was the series that made Brandon Sanderson a big name in SFF, but I prefer his newer stuff. Looking back at it, I thought the trilogy was stiffly written and I actually hated the ending! On the other hand, I’m adoring the new Mistborn books starring Wax and Wayne.

    Like

    • I am not a big Sanderson fan, I really enjoyed The Alloy of Law but I did not enjoy the Way of Kings that much and I don’t know if I’ll read other books by him. I have Words of Radiance so I might give this one a try but it’s not on the top of my to-read list…

      Like

  3. Totally agree about MISTBORN. The first book is a good, solid fantasy. I actually started reading the second novel and could not get into it. Now, I have no interest in doing so. Part of my hesitance to pick it back up are the reviews I’ve read of book two, which tend to agree it is the weakest of the series, but a lot of it is due to the hype the series gets. I tend to be really harsh and impatient with hyped novels. I know it isn’t fair to do so, but if a book/series keeps being heralded as THE GREATEST EVER! I expect it to be that.

    Like

    • Yes, I really liked the first book even if I was a bit bit underwhelmed, the second one was extremely slow and even if, overall, the trilogy is good, it’s definitely not the best thing out there. For me sanderson is a good author who has a ton of interesting concepts and ideas but I think that he lacks a bit in term of execution.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

