T5W: Characters I wouldn’t want to trade places with

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and  is now hosted by Sam fromThoughts on Tomes if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.


Topic

“We always talk about how cool it would be to be a character in our favorite books, but who would you not want to trade places with?”

I love reading books about people fighting against dystopian societies but I am a 100% sure that I wouldn’t want to live in their world or be in their shoes. I wouldn’t make a great hero, I’ll probably just hide in my bed under a duvet with a cup of tea. I’m not that brave.

I haven’t mentionned The Traitor Baru Cormorant in a while so here it is! Baru is a great character, she’s not what I would call likeable but she’s extremely patient and she really fights for her values. I wouldn’t want to be in her shoes for a second though because, during the entire novel, she tries to play with forces that are way bigger than her. As  explained above, I don’t see myself being that brave (or stubborn). I love the book, it’s a great geopolitical fantasy story but I wouldn’t want to live in this world, even less as Baru!

I really need to read The Obelisk Gate, the latest installment out in the series but Essun is a character from this trilogy I WOULDN’T want to trade place with (not that I would like to be any of the other characters in this world mind you). Her world is basically literally falling apart, her husband killed her son and kidnapped his daughter because of who she is and, basically, everything is turning sour in her life. The Fifth Season is one hell of a book but, my life is pretty alright as it is, I don’t exactly want to be in this situation!

I just don’t want to be stranded on Mars.

I might actually prefer to be stranded on Mars that stranded on Westeros (or Essos for that matter).

 

 

What about you? What characters would you not want to trade place with?

7 thoughts on “T5W: Characters I wouldn’t want to trade places with

Leave a Reply

