Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Spooky Settings

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and  is now hosted by Sam fromThoughts on Tomes if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.


Topic

“These can be settings that exist in books or ones you’d like to see in books. You don’t have to make this about horror or scary settings. You can also use eerie, atmospheric settings. Macabre settings, eclectic settings etc..”

 

This was a hard topic for me, I’m scared easily and I don’t particularly like to be. I don’t read a lot of of horror so I don’t have a ton of “favorite” spooky settings. However, I did manage to find five so here they are:

 

  • Space

Space is place that both fascinate me and scare me. I love to read stories taking place there but I couldn’t be an astronaut, I just don’t know how I would react if I was alone in this immensity. Not gonna lie, I would probably die within seconds because I’m so clumsy I would probably be unable to put on a spacesuit correctly. 😛 I like to read about missions that take place in space (like Seveneves by Neal Stephenson) but at the same time, they make me incredibly anxious.

  • Foreign Planet

Afficher l'image d'origine

I was thinking of Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovski when I chose this setting. Children of Time is one of my favorite book of 2016 and even though it’s not an horror book, it featured some scenes that were pretty scary to me, the first one being the first time the humans reached Kern, the foreign planet at the center of the whole book and encountered its inhabitants. Fortunately the scary scenes were pretty short because they were intense and I don’t think I would have appreciate the book as much if it had more of those. However, I really enjoyed the setting and even though I know its a recurrent trope in SF, I found it fascinating!

  • Spaceship

Yes, space and space travel is a recurring theme here but you have to admit that a spaceship is a spooky place, I mean if something weird happens when you’re in one, you’re trapped. I am not claustrophic but I think that I could be if I had to stay in a spaceship for a long period of times and it would probably drive me nuts. As you may have guessed by now, I wouldn’t be a great astronaut. 😛

  • Woods

Traditionally, Aokigahara has been associated with demons in Japanese mythology.

That’s a cliché answers but when I mean woods, I don’t mean the foggy woods we always see in I don’t how many horror films.Those ones are creepy as hell but I don’t enjoy reading about them at all, however, I love reading about woods filled with fantastical creatures. I think that they can be a bit spooky like in Harry Potter or Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell but I always like to read stories taking place in this setting!

  • Circus/Amusement park

Afficher l'image d'origine

I’m thinking about this one because I recently saw the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children movie and I loved the section at the end taking place in an musement park. It’s not a very original settings but it’s fun and it can easily be spooky!

 

What about you ? 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Spooky Settings

  1. Yep, space is spooky! Growing up, I was never one of those kids who dreamed of being an astronaut either. The idea of being lost in space freaks me out so bad, I would have a panic attack if I didn’t know for a certainty that the chances of me being in such a situation is absolutely nil. But when I watch movies that show that though, like a certain character in Gravity, I find it very distressing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

