Book Review: Every Mountain Made Low by Alex White

29430524Genre: Horror/Fantasy/Dystopian

Publisher: Solaris

Length: 416 pages

Format: eARC

Rating: 3 stars

Publication Date: October 25th 2016

 

 

 

 

Publisher’s description

“Loxley Fiddleback can see the dead, but the problem is… the dead can see her.

Ghosts have always been cruel to Loxley Fiddleback – but none more than the spirit of her only friend, alive only hours earlier. Loxley isn’t equipped to solve a murder: she lives near the bottom of a cutthroat, strip-mined metropolis known as “The Hole,” suffers from crippling anxiety and can’t cope with strangers. Worse still, she’s haunted.
 
She inherited her ability to see spirits from the women of her family, but the dead see her, too. Ghosts are drawn to her, and their lightest touch leaves her with painful wounds.

Loxley swears to take blood for blood and find her friend’s killer. In doing so, she uncovers a conspiracy that rises all the way to the top of The Hole. As her enemies grow wise to her existence, she becomes the quarry, hunted by a brutal enforcer named Hiram McClintock. In sore need of confederates, Loxley must descend into the strangest depths of the city in order to have the revenge she seeks and, ultimately, her own salvation.”

 

Review

 

Well I am usually bad at writing book synopsis but this book isn’t making the process easier. I don’t even know the genre of this story, it is dealing with issues like disablity and Down syndrome, it has elements of horror (the main characters sees ghosts and can host their spirit), it’s also dealing with dystopian society (a huge corporation is managing the country and people are put in extremely rigid class system)

. The plot is also pretty odd because in the first third of the book, we only follow the daily life of Loxley, the main character who seems to be autistic, and her interaction with the world. Because of her condition, Loxley is a pretty unreliable narrator and she has issues dealing with other people and that can make her interactions with other people fairly cringy. Almost everyone is a douche with her, calling her « retarted » and « dumb » all the time and it was really hard for me to read about because I wanted to punch them or just take Loxley away so that she could be left alone. I know this type of behaviour exists in real life against people with disability, poor people, refugees or just people who are different but it’s still hard for me to read about bullies like this.

If people being douche to other people is something that you don’t like reading about, this is going to upset you.

The plot is thin, it’s not uninteresting but it’s not particularly amazing in anyway. Basically, the only adult in Loxley’s life that isn’t a complete asshole to her, Nora, is murdered and Loxley wants to find the culprit and kill him. As much as the plot wasn’t anything new, I was intrigued enough by the characters and the world to continue on. I would have liked the book more if the worldbuilding was a little more coherent and explained. That might have been because the story was narrated by Loxley but I didn’t feel that the world felt real. It felt like we only knew a small portion of the world and that the other part just didn’t matter. Then again, I think that it was explained by Loxley POV. She didn’t care about the rest of the world so she couldn’t bring herself to talk about it and she only threw some hints on what was happening out there. It was the author bias but still, I wanted more.

The writing was quite straightforward, it didn’t blew me away but it fitted the tone of the story perfectly which was a good thing.

Overall, I can’t say that I enjoyed the book but, I really don’t think that it’s meant to be enjoyed if that makes any senses. I was intrigued by it but it left me a bit confused. I never really grasped what the author was trying to do (if anything) and I can’t really find any « targeted public ». I mean usually when I don’t like a book, I can at least see who could appreciate it or for which public it was written but, with this book, I have no clue! I wouldn’t especially recommend it to anyone, if you want to give a try, please do but otherwise, I don’t see myself pushing this in any hands !

I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. My thanks to the publisher and Netgalley.
10 thoughts on “Book Review: Every Mountain Made Low by Alex White

  1. It’s possible that the choice of seeing the whole story through the unreliable narrator that is the main character ended up filtering it all through her narrow vision: this might be the reason of your… puzzlement (I guess) with the novel. It’s intriguing though…
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, that’s disappointing because I was actually kind of curious about this one and I hadn’t seen many reviews. But a book that gave you no clue and that made you think it really isn’t meant to be enjoyed, that doesn’t sound like something for me. I don’t do well with confusing books!

    Like

  3. I’ve seen this book floating around but yours is the first review I’ve read. Based on your lukewarm review, I probably won’t pick this up, simply because I have so much to read!

    Like

    • If I had read some reviews of this book before seeing it on Netgalley, I probably wouldn’t have requested it. I read almost all the reviews available on Goodreads and I agree with almost most of them. This book is unique but very confusing and it tries to do too much at the same time…

      Like

Leave a Reply

