January Wrap-Up and February Reading Plans

January was a very busy month for me, I had my finals at the beginning of the month and then I started an internship, because of that, my reading schedule was a bit disturbed but I am still happy with what I managed to read!

Books Read

  • Clarkesworld 119 ed. by Neil Clarke ★★★
  • The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth #2) by N.K. Jemisin ★★★
  • Rosewater by Tade Thompson ★★★★★
  • Star Wars: Catalyst by James Lucreno ★★
  • The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley ★★★
  • Twelve Kings by Bradley Beaulieu ★★★

As you can see, most of my reads were 3 stars which means that I like most of what I read. I should have mini reviews of The Obelisk Gate and Twelve Kings up soon, I had really high expectations for both of them and even if they were good books, they both didn’t met my expectations, I guess sometimes I just want to much from certain books… Rosewater was the hidden gem of this month and I am fairly certain it will end up on my favorites of 2017.

DNF

20764879

 

I didn’t finish A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab after reading about  third of it. It wasn’t awful but I really didn’t care about the story and I didn’t want to force myself to finish it. I might go back to it in the future if I feel the urge, Schwab’s writing is good and I like the world of this series, it’s just that it wasn’t the right time for me to read this!

 

 

Currently Reading & TBR

I finished The Fortress at the End of Time by Joe McDermott a two days ago and I am currently reading The Tempest by Shakespeare in preparation for Miranda & Caliban, Jacqueline Carey latest novel that I also plan to read this month. It’s my first Shakespeare and I’m struggling a bit with the langage since english is not my native tongue and I didn’t get to study Shakespeare. However, I like the story and I have to say that it is quite funny at times! As for the rest of the month, I don’t have many plans so I’ll have to see what I’m in the mood for!

 

How was your month ?

12 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up and February Reading Plans

  1. Have you considered reading nonfiction?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

  2. I don’t know if it will help you at all, but for me, I found that reading Shakespeare out loud helped a lot. It slows the reading down a lot, but you get into the rhythm of things and don’t find the iambic pentameter so distracting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not sure how I missed your review of Rosewater! Anyway, I’m glad you left a link here. Great idea to read The Tempest first, before Miranda and Caliban. I wish I’d done that too, since I feel as if I’m missing some nuances in the story, but I’m still enjoying it. Hope February is a great month!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Making reading plans does not work so well, sometimes. More often than not, when I try to draw a schedule I intend to keep, I get distracted by some new title I didn’t know about and… bye bye plans! 😀
    So yes, go where the book tides take you and, more important, enjoy yourself! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

