2017 Anticipated Releases – February

Here as some of my most anticipated releases of the month! It is pretty fantasy heavy but I really really want to read all the titles featured here, it’s definitely a great month in terms of releases! 🙂

Fantasy

Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman (February 7,  W. W. Norton & Company)

I am not the biggest fan of Gaimain’s novels however, I tend to really enjoy his short fiction so I when I saw that he was coming up with an anthology based on Norse mythology, I was immediately intrigued!

Miranda and Caliban – Jacqueline Carey (February 14, Tor Books)

I have read two trilogies by Carey set in her Kushiel universe and I love her prose. The premise of the story is very interesting to me, I definitely want to see how Carey is going to picture Miranda and Caliban’s relationship and how she is going to tie everything with the Shakespeare play The Tempest.

In Calabria – Peter S. Beagle (February 14,  Tachyon)

I know next to nothing about this book except that it is supposed to be a very lyrical and fantastical story and that I really want to try Beagle’s works.

Portal of a Thousand Worlds – Dave Duncan (February 14, Open Road Media)

This fantasy story set in nineteenth-sentury China follows the aftermath of the opening of a mysterious portal. I really like to read stories set in Asia and the cover is gorgeous, so, I’m in!

 

Science Fiction

The Stars are Legion – Kameron Hurley (February 7, Angry Robots/Saga Press)

Set in an universe of organic planets, The Stars are Legion, follows the story of Zayn, a woman without memories that holds the power to save the Legion. I already read this as an ARC, you can find my full review here, it is a very strange books but it has a ton of very cool ideas.

All Our Wrongs Today – Elan Mastai (February 7, Dutton)

Tom Barren lives in 2016 but not in our 2016, in the 2016 that we imagined years and years ago with flying cars and everything available from the touch of a button. What would happen if he was suddendly thrown in our 2016 ? I don’t know about you but I definitely want to know!

Seven Surrenders – Ada Palmer (February 21, Tor Books)

Definitely my most anticipated release of the month, I cannot wait for the sequel of Too Like The Lighting, the first book in the Terra Icognita series by Palmer and one, if not the best debut I had the chance to read last year! (review of the first book here)

 

8 thoughts on “2017 Anticipated Releases – February

  1. Great list! February definitely has an over abundance of books I want to read as well. I just finished Miranda and Caliban and really loved it. And I love finding another blogger who isn’t so crazy about Neil Gaiman (I always dread saying that out loud, lol!)

    Like

    • I also finished Carey’s novel, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to but it was still good and really well written!
      I have read one book by Gaiman (American Gods) and it was a real chore to finish it however, I read two of his short stories and I liked them so I don’t know how I feel about him! :p

      Like

  2. I read Miranda and Caliban and In Calabria already, and both were pretty great 🙂

    Unfortunately I may have to throw in the towel for Seven Surrenders. The first book was good, but I’m just not used to the style and that “heaviness”, just remembering my time with it is already making my brain feel exhausted 🙂

    Like

    • I just finished Miranda and Caliban and I have mixed opinions, I enjoyed it but I think my expectations were a bit too high…
      I can totally get that, Too Like the Lightning was very dense so it’s definitely not for everyone, I loved it but it’s probably not a book I would give to anyone haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

