March Wrap-Up and April Reading Plans

I don’t know about you but I feel like this year is flying by, I mean, is it really April already?

I’ve read many interesting books this month, I really don’t have any favorite one but, they almost all had some elements or discussions that interested me quite a bit. I didn’t have a lot of free times to read so hopefully, I’ll have more in April because, as always, I want to read ALL the books.

Books Read

  • Miniatures by John Scalzi ★★★1/2
  • Luna: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald ★★★1/2
  • Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson ★★
  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab ★★★
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood ★★★
  • Last Song Before Night by Ilana C. Myer ★★

DNF

31159864

I did not finish Kokoro by Keith Yatsuhashi, I read the first book, Koijiki last August and even though it definitely had some flaws, I quite liked the world Yastuhashi created. However, I couldn’t bring myself to finish Kokora, it was a bit all over the place and it was pretty confusing. I felt like all the characters were the same and when I realized I was forcing myself to read the book, I decided to put it down. I’m sure some people would enjoy this series, it has some cool elements (the world, the unusual magic and Japanese mythology) but infortunetely, I just don’t think it’s for me. I always feel bad when I don’t finish books I was sent for reviews but I prefer that to forcing myself to read. For me reading is something I do to relax and I don’t want to feel any pressure to read anything, especially because if I had read this up until the end, I would have probably hated it which isn’t really fair since it’s just not for me.

Currently Reading & TBR

I am currently reading five books because apparently, I wanted to start everything at the end of March. I am still reading The Wall of Storms by Ken Liu, it took me two months to read 50% but it doesn’t mean that I’m not enjoying the book, it’s very good but I’m still taking ages to read it because I always read other books at the same time. I also started In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park, Aftermath by Chuck Wending, Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey and Five Stories High, an anthology edited by Jonathan Oliver.

I will probably review Abanddon’s Gate and Cibola Burn at the same since I am reading them pretty closely, I am really trying to catch up on this series! I will also do a review of Aurora one day because I have very conflicted feelings on this book and I think I need to put them out there!

 

I hope you had a great month!

7 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up and April Reading Plans

  1. I’ve tried reading multiple books at the same time, but I just can’t concentrate when I do that. Plus it seems to take forever to finish any of them! I also have a bad habit of putting down a book to try another one, and then I NEVER go back to the first book. So I just read one at a time these days. I had a bad reading month in March too, I only posted four reviews, I think. Oh well! Sometimes life just gets in the way of reading:-/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You expressed a great truth when you said that forcing yourself to finish a book you don’t like makes you hate it in the end: while it’s sad when a book does not fulfill its promises, I always prefer to move on to… greener pastures. Reading should indeed be fun and when it comes close to being *work* instead, all the fun disappears…

    I look forward to your reviews on the books from The Expanse: right now it’s my favorite space opera series – both in books and on tv 🙂

    Like

    • I tend to feel a bit guilty when it is a book I received for review but it was starting to irritate me and usually when it’s the case, it’s better both for the book and for me to put it aside!
      I like this series but it’s not my favorite however, I’m attached to the characters and I’m intrigued enough about the world to continue. So far, Cibola Burn isn’t grabbing me as much as the others but I think it’s because I am listening to it and I don’t focuse on the audiobook as much as I probably should to enjoy the story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

