May Wrap-Up and June Reading Plans

Well May was a MUCH better reading months than April, I managed to catch up on some review books and I read a couple of very good books which is always great!

Books Read

  • Star Wars Aftermath: Empire’s End by Chuck Wending ★★★ 1/2
  • Five Stories High edited by Jonathan Oliver ★★★★
  • Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee ★★★★★
  • Special Purposes by Gavin G. Smith ★★★1/2
  • Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day by Seanan McGuire ★★★1/2
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead ★★★★★
  • Faller by Will McIntosh ★★★
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir ★★
  • The Wall of Storms by Ken Liu ★★★1/2

I will be reviewing Faller shortly so I won’t talk about it here but I do want to say a few things about the books I didn’t manage to review this month because of a lack of time.

Empire’s End by Chuck Wending was a very nice conclusion to the Aftermath trilogy and I would recommend it to any Star Wars fan since it does offer a few explanations on what actually happened between The Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens. It’s not a mindblowing trilogy but it’s fun and some of the characters are very interesting (like Sinjir for example).

Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day  by Seanan McGuire was a very well written little novella that offered a really interesting discussion on grief and death and that I enjoyed quite a bit. My only issue with it is that McGuire (like with Every Heart a Doorway) turned the story into a mystery and I feel like it wasn’t necessary at all. However, I would still highly recommend this one!

However, I wouldn’t really recommend An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, it is better for me not to review this book because in my opinion it is just bad. I only gave it two stars because I found it so bad that it became funny, for me this book has almost no plot, the characters are complete Mary Sues and I don’t particulalry enjoy reading about love triangles… I might have enjoyed this one when I was 13 years old because of how cheesy it is but, even then, I think I would have rolled my eyes quite a bit. If I am looking for a very light and cheesy read at some point, I might actually pick up the sequel because why the heck not? It’s fun but if you are looking for a good YA fantasy, I wouldn’t recommend this one.

Last but not least, I finally, finally finished The Wall of Storms by Ken Liu, it took me 4 months to read the first half and 3 days to read the other one. It’s a very good book but because it took me so much time to read, I didn’t like it as much as I would have in other conditions. I wished it had been 200 pages shorter by Liu’s writing style is great and the setting is very refreshing and interesting!

DNF

18176332

I read the first quarter of this short story collection that I picked up on a whim and… I just couldn’t do it, the writing is lyrical to the point it’s almost impossible to understand and I couldn’t see the point of any stories. It was just too odd for me, I’m sure some people would enjoy this but it’s just not for me.

Currently Reading & TBR

I am trying not to read too many books at the same time for once so I can actually focus on them! I am currently reading A Thousand Paper Birds by Tor Udall that I received for review but since I am only a few pages in I can’t say much about it. I would like to pick up A Tyranny of Queens by Foz Meadows and The City & The City by China Miéville but we’ll see if I am in the mood for them after reading Udall’s book.

 

How was your month? Do you have any favorite reads? Mine sure are Raven Stratagem and The Underground Railroad! Hope you had a great month of May! 🙂

5 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up and June Reading Plans

  1. LOL, you make your experience with An Ember in the Ashes sound so bad/funny that now I really wish you had written a review! Honestly, I think I liked that book at the time but now I can hardly even remember what happened, so that probably says something, doesn’t it? And I’m glad you enjoyed the Aftermath trilogy! Book one was soooo blah, but I’m glad it improved.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

