Book Review: Faller by Will McIntosh

28220764

Genre: Weird, Science Fiction

Publisher: Tor Books

Length: 352 pages

Format: eARC

Rating: 2.5-3 stars

Publication Date: October 25th 2016

 

 

Publisher’s description

Day One

No one can remember anything–who they are, family and friends, or even how to read. Reality has fragmented and Earth consists of an islands of rock floating in an endless sky. Food, water, electricity–gone, except for what people can find, and they can’t find much.

Faller’s pockets contain tantalizing clues: a photo of himself and a woman he can’t remember, a toy solider with a parachute, and a mysterious map drawn in blood. With only these materials as a guide, he makes a leap of faith from the edge of the world to find the woman and set things right.

He encounters other floating islands, impossible replicas of himself and others, and learns that one man hates him enough to take revenge for actions Faller can’t even remember.

Book Review

 

If you like extremely weird books where a good suspension of disbelief is fondamental to your enjoyment of the book, this one is for you.

Faller opens up in a floating city where no one can remember who they are and where they come from. Our main character wakes up in an isolated world where he can’t even remember how to read, the only thing he knows, he knows thanks to the content of his pocket: he founds a photo of himself and a woman, a toy soldier with a tiny parachute and a paper with weird things written on it in what seems to be blood but that he can’t understand.

A few days after the “event” now called Day One, people start killing each other for ressources and throwing unwanted people (including children) through the edge of the world. Inspired by the toy soldier and its parachute, our main character decides to jump from a building to see if he can observe things across the edge of his world. Of course things don’t end up exactly how he wants and he falls from his world… into another one.

The book also follows another storyline set in the past and treating with a bunch of scientist playing with quantum physics allowing us to understand the causes of Day One. The novel constantly jumps between each plot lines and I wasn’t a fan of that because it makes for a pretty uneven pacing (and pretty obvious twists).

Faller is a crazy and fast-paced story and it definitely was a journey. However, I didn’t enjoy it  as much as I wanted to, mainly because I found that all the characters made extremely dumb decisions all the time. All the characters were naive and made ridiculous mistakes. That wouldn’t  be such an issue for me if they were not the cause of Earth destruction but, in the case of this novel, those mistakes felt forced, they obviously were there to push the story forward but, if they had been a bit more believable, they would’nt have annoyed me near as much. I couldn’t relate to the main character because most of the time, I just wanted to punch him in the face. I can deal with unlikable characters but I have zero patience with stupid ones especially when the author try to sell them as “brilliant scientist that everyone adores”, just no.

So, I think I would have enjoyed this book if the characters were a bit more developped or just a tad less stupid. The lack of characterization constantly pulled me out of the story  and sometimes made it hard for me to read the book. I still finished Faller because I was intrigued to see how it would end and I’m still glad I finished it, even if the ending felt felt a bit random. I can forgive that, the whole book being utterly crazy., at this point I just like “okay whatever, why not”. So if you are reading this just for the story, you might end up enjoying yourself a lot, however, if you are expecting interesting characters and good writing, I wouldn’t especially recommend.

 

3-ish stars.

 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to Tor Books and Netgalley. All opinions are my own.

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Faller by Will McIntosh

  1. Not a book that I would probably pick up but I think your review has set that in stone now! I haven’t read this author yet but I’m sure I have one of his books – yep, Defenders – it seems to have good reviews so hopefully I’ll enjoy – have you read that one?
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t ^^ Faller was my first McIntosh book, I might give this author another chance because some his books sound really interesting like Love Minus Eighty or Burning Midnight for example. Faller doesn’t seem to be his most popular book including among his fans so maybe it’s not a good representation of his works (at least I hope so!) 🙂

      Like

    • Yes that’s basically what happened for me haha. I just found the use of those things (characters making mistakes after mistakes and falling in every possible single trap) to be lazy writing, it felt like the author didn’t know how to make his story progress so his only way out was to turn his characters into idiots…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love McIntosh, I’m a huge fan. This however, was definitely not his best work, and I think it was because he himself admitted to be unfamiliar with the science behind the premise. Definitely give him another try if you can, my favorite is Love Minus Eighty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

