Top Ten 2021 Science Fiction Books I’m excited to read | Sci-Fi Month 2020

Sci-Fi Month is almost over (sadly!) and so is 2020 (finally!) which means that it is now time to make reading plans for the coming year. 😀 I love making anticipated releases list even if they are usually a bit overwhelming since so many interesting titles are coming out all the time. In order to keep this list somewhat in control, I decided to only mention ten science fiction books I’m very excited about and that I will probably read nex year. It’s not an exhaustive list, I didn’t mention all the books I have on my reading radar and I don’t a lot of information regarding titles that will come out in the second half of 2021.

​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​

Remote Control by Nnedi Okorafor – January 19th 2021

34215764. sy475

Nnedi Okorafor is one of my favorite authors so I’m always excited when I hear about a new book from her. Remote Control looks like a blend of science fiction and fantasy and it follows the adopted daughter of the Angel of Death.

The synopsis, the author, the gorgeous cover… Count me in!

Do I have an ARC? Sadly my Netgalley request was denied but, don’t you worry, I will buy this and read it as soon as I can! 😀

Winter’s Orbit by Everina Maxwell – February 2nd

53205912

I know I shouldn’t get sucked into marketing but this blurb is too good to pass up: “Ancillary Justice meets Red, White & Royal Blue“?? What? How? I love both books but I don’t know how it would be possible to mush them both together. I have to read this book to figure it out!

It helps that I’ve heard amazing things about this book on BookTwitter so, even if the blurb is just a marketing gimmick, I still have high hopes that Winter’s Orbit is a great read. I also want to try out a science fiction romance, it’s a subgenre I tend to avoid but I want to give it a chance. I obviously love science fiction and I do enjoy romance when I’m in the mood for some. Let’s see how this works! 😀

Do I have an ARC? Yes, I requested one after reading the blurb and I got approved, I’m very excited for it!

A Desolation Called Peace (Teixcalaan, #2) by Arkady Martine – March 2nd

45154547. sy475

I read and liked A Memory Called Empire a few months ago and I’m excited to read the sequel! The first book was a solid four stars read for me, I really liked the world and I want to see how Martine is going to expand it in the sequel.

Do I have an ARC? YES! The Netgalley gods and the Tor team answered my prayers and I had to refrain myself from dropping my carefully curated Sci-Fi Month TBR to read this one immediately….

Skyward Inn by Aliya Whiteley – March 16th

54303483

To be perfecty honest, I’m not sure I know what this book is about. I think it follows a inn owner in an isolated space station? However, it’s written by Aliya Whiteley and it’s published by Solaris so… I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy it very much.

Do I have an ARC? Yes, I snagged an eARC a couple of months ago in a Rebellion Reviewer newsletter!

I’m Waiting for You and Other Stories by Bo-Young Kim – April 6th

54427135

I’ve read two Kim Bo Young short stories published in Clarkesworld and I enjoyed them both so I would like to read her upcoming collection of short stories. I don’t read a lot of translated works so I would like to read more in 2021.

Do I have an ARC? No, I think it wasn’t available on Netgalley and, even if it is, Harper Voyager usually doesn’t open review requests for international reviewers. However, I will happily buy a copy of this book when it comes out! 😀

Victories Greater Than Death (Universal Expansion, #1) by Charlie Jane Anders – April 13th

36447482. sy475

I don’t usually read YA but I’m very willing to read a YA book if it’s written by Charlie Jane Anders since I love her stories so much! Victories Greater than Death is an intergalactic story following a human clone of “the most brilliant alien commander in all the galaxies”. Sounds like a ton of fun!

Do I have an ARC? Yes and I did a victory dance when I got the email. And yes, pun intended.

Unity by Elly Bangs – April 13th

55336005. sy475

This debut book plays with the idea of conciousness and unity of mind and identity. The synopsis gave me solid Mad Max meets Ancillary Justice vibes and I’m here for it!

Do I have an ARC? Yes! My thanks to Tachyon for providing me with an ARC, I’m always excited to read their releases because they are always unique and out of the box! 🙂

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir – May 4th

54493401

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Artemis but The Martian is one of my favorite books so of course I’m excited to read Andy Weir’s new book! I don’t know a lot about it except that it follows an astronaut who is the only person capable of saving Earth. From what, I don’t know but I’m intrigued.

Do I have an ARC? No and I would like to read a few reviews before buying just to see if it’s more similar to The Martian than Artemis.

Perhaps the Stars (Terra Ignota, #4) by Ada Palmer – June 1st

Get excited for the big day. | Excited gif, Happy dance, Seinfeld

The cover hasn’t been released yet but the final book in Ada Palmer’s Terra Ignota has a release date!! YAY! It has been pushed back for years and I’m sooo excited to finally read it. The third book was crazy good and, even if I might have to re-read the first three books, I can’t wait for the finale!!

Do I have an ARC? Not yet but the second I see it on Netgalley, you can be sure I will request it! It’s my most anticipated release of 2021 for sure.

A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot, #1) by Becky Chambers –  July 13th

40864002. sy475

Set centuries in the future, this first book in Becky Chambers new series follows the adventures of a tea monk and a robot. Since it’s written by Becky Chambers, I’m sure it’s going to be delightful and optimistic and I think we all need a bit of that in our life.

Do I have an ARC? No but since it’s a July release, it’s not that surprising!

​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​🛸​

🚀 What are some of your anticipated 2021 science fiction releases? 😀 🚀

Artwork by Tithi Luadthong from 123RF.com

23 thoughts on “Top Ten 2021 Science Fiction Books I’m excited to read | Sci-Fi Month 2020

      1. I also just requested it on Netgalley so we’ll see how that goes lol.
        I really love Becky Chambers work–I feel like she dives right into the heart of sci-fi dealing with what it means to be human in this universe.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I know nothing about Skyward Inn other than what you just told me and based on that alone I need this book. “Inn owner on an isolated space station” is all I need. I’m really looking forward to Persephone Station by Steins Leicht. Not bread anything by her before but this is described as for fans of The Mandalorian and Cowboy Bebop!!! Plus reading the actual blurb it legit sounds excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s