The Best Books I read in 2021 aka the 2021 Curious SFF Reader Book Awards

Prix, Coupe, Icône, Win, Médaille, Succès

It is the beginning of the year so, it’s the perfect time to highlight the best books I read in 2021! My favorite way of gushing about my favorite books is to put them in random categories so… here we go!

Best Fantasy novella

The Empress of Salt and Fortune is one of the first books I read this year and it is by far my favorite fantasy novella in 2021. I also loved its sequel but I’m constantly think about this one in particular.

51190882. sx318 sy475

Review of The Empress of Salt and Fortune

Best Fantasy novel

I’m always a bit skeptical when I pick up super hyped books but, in the case of The Poppy War, it completely lived up to it. It’s a very violent story inspired by the Second Sino-Japanese War and it was a page-turner!

35068705

Best Science Fiction novella

Remote Control has all the successful elements of the Binti trilogy without any of aspects I don’t like about it. It feels like a fairytale set decades in the future and I loved it.

34215764. sy475

Best Science Fiction novel

Kindred is a classic for a reason, it’s a hard read but it’s powerful and captivating. It discusses race, slavery and how far humans are willing to go to protect their family. I can’t wait to read more of Butler’s works (though I’m not sure if my heart is going to handle it).

38190066. sy475

Best Horror

After reading The ThoughtBox, a fantastic short story by Tsamaase in 2020, I finally picked up one of her other works and it was exactly as amazing as I expected it to be. A novella perfect for fans of Okorafor’s as it blends science fiction and fantasy and, dreams with reality.

53966328. sy475

Best Collection

It’s rare for me to read a collection of short stories where I really like all the stories. The only other collection that managed the same feat for me is The Paper Menagerie & Other Stories by Ken Liu and it’s my favorite short story collection.

I can’t recommend Friday Black enough for fans of N.K. Jemisin, Tochi Onyebuchi and Jordan Peele.

37570595. sy475

Best Literary Fiction

I have been meaning to read this book since it was shortlisted for the Man Booker in 2017 and I finally read it. This book felt deeply personal to me as it discussed at length how it feels to be disconnected to your cultural heritage. It’s not a happy book but parts of it reminded me of fond memories of visiting the Algerian side of my family during the holidays when I was little.

35898777

Best Romance

There are not many happy titles on this list, I don’t know what it says about me but I definitely tend to love tragic and hard-hitting stories.

The Hating Game is none of the above, it’s funny and cute as hell. I read it for the first time in 2018, I think I read it for the fourth time in 2021 and I finally bumped my rating to five stars because I can’t lie to myself anymore, it’s my favorite romance book of all time!

25883848. sy475

Best Buddy-Read

Last year, I buddy-read three books with Mayri from Bookforager: Lovecraft Country, Kindred and A Man Lies Dreaming. I loved discussing all the books with her but I think our discussion of A Man Lies Dreaming was my favorite because it allowed me to order my thoughts and feelings about the story. I don’t think I would have been able to do that without Mayri’s help! 😉

25893766

You can read our discussion about A Man Lies Dreaming here (part 1) and here (part 2).

Best Series

Last year, I finally read Clark’s Dead Djinn Universe stories and I had such a blast doing it. I don’t think I can read enough stories set in his alternate magical Cairo. I hope he will write many more stories set in this world!

Best Worst Book

The Maidens was so bad it was almost good. I enjoyed The Silent Patient earlier in 2021 but The Maidens was terrible. And don’t even get me started on the ending, it was so lazy and ridiculous and I hated it.

45300567

Best of the Best

All the books featured on this list are amazing (except The Maidens, of course) but The Vanished Birds is top tier. This story broke my heart over and over again, I cried non-stop while reading the last chapter and I haven’t felt such connections with book characters in a long-time, if ever. This book is stunning, mind-blowing and heartbreaking. What more can I say? Just go read it and thank me later.

55120626

Have you read any of the books mentioned in this post? What are your favorite books of 2021? 😀

12 thoughts on “The Best Books I read in 2021 aka the 2021 Curious SFF Reader Book Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s