T5W: Book I’m Intimidated By

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

Sorry for the lack of reviews recently, I don’t have much time to read because I have lots of exams at the momen and so, even if I’m spending every day in my university library, I can’t read. Yes it’s very frustrating! πŸ˜›

Anyway, I’m here to do this week’s topic which is the “top five books I’m intimidated about”. It was pretty easy to choose , I really want to read those books, but I am pretty scared by them. But, one day, I’ll read them. (Probably.)

  • Anathem by Neal Stephenson

I attempted to read this about two months ago and I really struggled with it. However, I really want to try it again because I know that once I get used to the world, I’ll probably really love it.

  • The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

This book is very intimidated to me, I really don’t know if it’s something I am going to enjoy or not. I really love LoTR and I want to read other things by Tolkien but I know that a lot of LoTR’s fans really struggled so yeah, it’s a book I want to read in my life but maybe not immediately. πŸ˜›

  • The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons

I really loveΒ Hyperion, I read it two times and it’s one of my favorite books of all time and I don’t know why I haven’t been able to read the freakin’ sequel. Maybe it’s because I’m scared it’s not going to be as good as Hyperion but, I will never know that if I don’t read it. I am going to read it. This year.

(Maybe.)
  • Reaper’s Gale by Steven Erikson

It’s the seventh book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Erikson and it’s supposed to be the most boring of the whole series and it’s almost 1300 pages. This series is incredibly complex and all the books are huge which is not a great combo (for me at least). I wanted to finish it this year so, I’ll need to read Reaper’s Gale sooner rather than later but, ugh, I know that it is going to take me ages to get through.

  • The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber

The synospis of this book is really intriguing but I’ve heard a lot of mixed things from people I trust… I received this book as a gift from my sister last Christmas so I am definitely going to read it (or at least try). If you read this book, did you like it?

 

What about you? Any intimidating in your TBR? πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “T5W: Book I’m Intimidated By

  1. I believe that the problems many LOTR admirers have with the Silmarillion is that they expect something along the same lines, while this is so different as to be puzzling and even confusing, at times. The tone is different, the writing is different – less colloquial, more elegiac (for want of a better word), but I can tell you it’s the kind of story (or rather, stories) that grows on you, and gets better on a re-read.
    Oh, and some advice based on my own experience: read it with a map of Beleriand close at hand, it will prove quite useful! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I have a translation of it in French, I read the first five pages two years ago and it’s true that they had a very tone than LOTR. However I don’t want to read it in French so I’ll need to buy another version.
      Thanks for the advice, I’ll keep that in mind! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Definitely read it in the original English, it’s much better: Tolkien’s lyrical prose does not translate well, no matter how skilled the translator is. And when he/she isn’t, like in the Italian translation I bought for a comparison, it turns into a horrible nightmare….

        Like

  2. Awesome list, and I agree on all your books here, for different reasons. I’m so scared of tackling the The Silmarillion because my husband says it is amazing in all its detail and richness, but it can also be so incredibly dry. I’m also intimidated by pretty much all of Neal Stephenson’s tomes, like Reamde and Seveneves, both of which I own but haven’t read because one look at the page count and I balk. And yeah, I’m afraid to read The Fall of Hyperion because I’m so worried it won’t live up to Hyperion, but based on Tammy’s comments maybe we should take the leap? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • The Silmarillion has a kind of “biblical” feel to it which makes it hard to read and I don’tknow when I’ll be in the right set of mind to tackle it…
      Seveneves is awesome, you should try it! I can’t speak for Reamde, it’s one of my dad’s favorite Stephenson’s book but since he is a computer engineer and this book is about computer science and this kind of thing, I’m not sure I would enjoy it πŸ˜›
      Yep, Tammy’s comment really motivated me, I will try to read it next month if I can squeeze it in! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

