April Wrap-Up and May Reading Plans

This is going to be quick since I only read three books.. Yes three! It was the least productive reading month I had in years so that’s why I have been a bit absent from the Internet for the last couple of weeks. The good thing is, even if I wasn’t very productive the three things that I read I enjoyed A LOT so there is that!

Books Read

  • In Order To Live by Yeonmi Park ★★★★★
  • Cibola Burn by James S.A. Corey ★★★★
  • Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee [REREAD] ★★★★★

As you can see, two five stars rating and a four, April was good month for me!

29776980

In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park is a nonfiction book, more precisely, it is a memoir of Yeonmi’s escape from North Korea and it was mindblowing. I almost never read nonfiction but I’m so glad I picked this up, it’s a hard read but it is fascinating and it made realize a lot of things about my own life. I know I sound extremely cheesy saying that but I mean it, I have always been fascinated by North Korea and how people lived there and reading Yeonmi’s story was hard but eye-opening and I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone!

 

23197305

Cibola Burn was good book to read after In Order to Live because of how different it is. I liked it a lot more than Abaddon’s Gate that I found a bit boring and had a hard time concentrating on (mind you, it could have been because I was listening to it) and it reminded me why I liked this series so much. The characters, the world and the adventures are really good and when you read an Expanse book, it feels like you are reading a blockbuster. The Expanse is not my favorite SF series but it is fun as hell and I really like it for that. (And also, Avasarala and Bobby!!)

27276118Speaking of my favorite SF series, I decided to re-read Ninefox Gambit because I just received an ARC of its sequel, Raven Stratagen (my thanks to Solaris I am sooo excited!), and I really wanted to experience the first book again. I am so glad I did because even though I found Ninefox Gambit amazing the first time around it was even better the second time. Indeed, this time I wasn’t confused during the first part of the book because I already knew how Yoon Ha Lee’s world worked. Yes this is not a book for everyone, I saw a bunch of mixed reviews lately saying that this was too complicated and the world made no sense. It is complex, true, but it is damn clever and I personally think that the world make sense as long as you don’t try to assimilate it to our own. Anyway, enough fangirling, as you can obviously see, I love this and it is a book that I will revisit many times in the future!

 

Currently Reading & TBR

I am basically currently reading the same things I was currently reading at the same time last month: The Wall of Storms by Ken Liu, Five Stories High edited by Jonathan Oliver and Empire’s End by Chuck Wending.

Since my reading schedule is all over the place, I don’t have a TBR but I would very much like to read Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee but we shall see if that’s actually going to happen!

 

Hope you had a good reading months! What were your favorite reads this April ?

8 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up and May Reading Plans

  1. I didn’t get as much reading done in April, but favorite read for me was probably Skullsworn as well as a fantasy western horror called Devil’s Call by J. Danielle Dorn that’s not out til July, but I’m already jumping up and down telling everyone about it because it was awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had trouble reading in April too, but hey, sometimes life just gets in the way and you have to deal with it! I expect to be back on track in June (May is another rough month for me). I think my favorite April book was Strange the Dreamer. Hope you get to lots of books this month!

    Like

    • Absolutely! May isn’t going to be much better for me too because I have exams but I don’t want to put pressure on myself to read, I’ll just read what I can and hopefully it will be good books!
      Is Strange the Dreamer a sequel to her previous trilogy or is it a standalone ?

      Like

  3. Ninefox Gambit is on my reading queue and so far I’ve let myself be somewhat distracted by the mixed reviews, but I’m too curious to worry about them – I only know I will need to start it at a time when my mind is free from everyday’s problems, that’s all.
    And The Expanse… ah, don’t make me start on how much I love this series! And Avasarala of course 🙂

    Like

    • Ninefox Gambit is very confusing at the beginning because Yoon Ha Lee doesn’t give a lot of explanations at all and you have to figure everything out by yourself, however, once you understand how the world works, you will be in for a treat!
      Haha Avasarala is the best, I would read books just about her, she’s so hilarious and awesome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

