The Halloween Book Tag | #SpooktasticReads

Happy Halloween everyone! I saw this tag on Maddalena’s blog Space and Sorcery (link to her post here) and it looked like a lot of fun so, I decided to do it as well!🎃 The original creator is Naomi the Book Lover on YouTube. 

👻👻👻👻👻

1. Carving pumpkins – what book would you carve up and light on fire?

I rarely hate books so much that I want to burn them but, the first book that came to my mind for this question is The Dinosaur Lords by Victor Milan. I read this book five years ago and it was one of my first review on this blog. I don’t remember a lot about it except that it was just… bad. The characterization wasn’t good, the dinosaurs weren’t a big part of the story, some character descriptions were offensive, the plot was inexistent and it was full of info-dumps. The only good things about this book are the cover and the “Jurassic Park meets Game of Thrones” blurb.

2. Trick or treat – what character is a treat, what character is a trick? 

My treat pick is Mikodez from Yoon Ha Lee’s Machineries of Empire series. He is basically a spy master and he is way too good at his job (that would probably make him a trick as well 🤣). I would love to read an entire book about him, he’s the best.

My trick pick is Mycroft Canner from Ada Palmer’s Terra Ignota. This character is probably the most unreliable character ever and my feelings towards him are ever-changing. Sometimes I love him, sometimes I hate him. He’s a genius but also a madman which is probably why I’m fascinated by him. I’m dying to read the final book Perhaps the Stars to see how it will affect my stance on this character!

3. Candy corn – what book is always sweet?

Autumn by Ali Smith. This book is the ultimate feel-good book for me, which is probably why I read it every single year during fall.

4. Ghosts – what character would you love to visit you as a ghost?

Hum… I’m not sure I would like any character to visit me as ghost… Even if it’s a very nice-looking ghost, I don’t know if I would like to meet my favorite characters. I would probably be very intimated if I met Jedao (Ninefox Gambit), Phèdre (Kushiel’s Dart) or Rudy (Europe in Autumn). They are way too smart and I would probably be afraid to look stupid in front of them.

However, I had to pick one character, it would be Kang Sin Jae from The King: Eternal Monarch, a Korean TV show I finished yesterday. I would give him a big hug, a warm blanket and a cup of tea (I hope ghosts can drink tea) because he seriously need them. This guy’s life really sucks.

Dramabeans Korean drama recaps

5. Dressing up in costume- what character would you want to be for a day?

It’s a hard one but, I think I would like to be either Breq from Ancillary Justice or Poe Dameron from Star Wars.

I would like to be Breq for a day to see and experience the world the way she does. I really love Breq, she’s so smart and she does her best to protect the people she cares about. She also always manage to put herself in the midst of fascinatining political intrigues so, it wouldn’t be a boring day (if I can survive it!).

Stream 13 free Ancillary Justice + Imperial Radch radio stations | 8tracks  radio apps

As for Poe, I have a bit of a crush on him since The Force Awakens (I blame Oscar Isaac for it!). As an introverted book-nerd and biological engineering student, I couldn’t be more different than him but, I would love to live one day as a badass rebel pilot from the Resistance (again, if I can survive it!).

New Novel 'Poe Dameron: Free Fall' Gives Us the Exciting Backstory of the  Reckless 'Star Wars' Pilot - AllEars.Net

6. Wizards and witches – what is your favorite Harry Potter moment?

I haven’t re-read the books in a long time (J.K. Rowling ‘s tweets are not really a strong incentive to do so) but, my favorite book in the series has always been Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I particularly love reading about Harry’s explorations of Diagon Alley because it’s fun to learn more about wizards and their magical objects!

Log in | Tumblr | Harry potter gif, Harry potter scene, Harry potter  illustrations

7. Blood and gore – what book was so creepy that you had to take a break from it for awhile?

Easy! When No One is Watching by Alyssa Cole creeped me out so much that I had to take several breaks because I couldn’t listen to some scenes in one go!

49398072

👻👻👻👻👻

This tag was a fun way to end Spooktastic Reads! I had a ton of fun participating to this mini-event during the last 13 days of the month, it was a great motivation for me to read and discuss some darker and creepier books. 🎃 I hope you are not sick of me yet since you’ll see even more of me next month during Sci-Fi Month. 😉 🚀🚀🚀

Art by Sergey Nivens from 123RF.com

5 thoughts on “The Halloween Book Tag | #SpooktasticReads

Leave a comment