This Is My Genre Book Tag | Science Fiction Edition

A few days ago, I was browsing the web looking for a new book tag (as one does) and I stumbled upon this one and I figured it would be a nice one to start Sci-Fi Month with. The tag was created by Drew from The Tattooed Book Geek! 🙂

☄️️ What is your favorite genre?

Science fiction! I try to read from a variety of genres but I always go back to science fiction.

🛸 Who is your favorite author from that genre?

How does one choose only one favorite author? 😬 The first author that came to my mind is Yoon Ha Lee because I adore his Machineries of Empire trilogy starting with Ninefox Gambit. However, I also love Ada Palmer’s books and I cannot not mention Ursula K. Le Guin. And Ann Leckie! Kim Stanley Robinson! Tade Thompson! Lavie Tidhar! Impossible to choose one really.

🌌 What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

Top 30 Gon Edits GIFs | Rechercher le meilleur GIF sur Gfycat

The endless possibilities, the wonders and how stories set hundreds of years in the future question our current way of living. Science fiction can be very bleak sometimes but I can’t think of any other genres that make me think as much as science fiction. However, I don’t just enjoy the genre for these aspects. I also think science fiction is freakin’ cool. Where else are you going to find fascinating stories about sentient ships and cool AIs?

🚀 What is the book that started your love for that genre?

Two books started my love for science fiction. The first one was Starfish by Peter Watts. I read the Rifters series when I was in high school and I read all the books back-to-back. I loved the world and the characters made a very strong impression on me. However, it was so good that all the other SF books I tried after that appeared bland and it took me years to pick up another science fiction book (it didn’t help that the library I always went to had a tiny SFF selection!).

That book that made me realize that the Rifters wasn’t a one hit wonder was The Martian by Andy Weir. I devoured it in two days, I couldn’t put it down!

🌠 If you had to recommend at least 1 book from your favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading this genre, what book would you choose and why?

I think we have established at this point that I’m unable to give a simple answer so… here are several options!

To a fantasy fan, I would recommend The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin because it’s a perfect blend of science fiction and fantasy and the worldbuilding feels fantastical… until it doesn’t! 😉

To someone who doesn’t read a lot but who likes science, I would recommend The Martian by Andy Weir because it manages to make a nightmarish situation sounds fun and nerdy

To someone who like literary fiction, I would recommend any books by Ursula K. Le Guin because who else would I recommend? 🤩

To someone who thinks science fiction isn’t real literature and that science fiction stories are only pulp adventures stories with aliens, I would recommend A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar because 1) it doesn’t have aliens and 2) it’s very gross and over the top. It’s also a great book that brings up fascinating discussions but I can definitely imagine more than a few buttoned-up readers being completely shocked by it since it’s very pulpy and Tidhar isn’t afraid to troll his readers.

👽 Why do you read?

Because it allows me to live many lives and because I love to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations… 😉

Finally…WhO do you Tag?

You! You’re tagged! And if you’re participating in SciFi Month, you’re definitely tagged! 🤖

10 thoughts on “This Is My Genre Book Tag | Science Fiction Edition

  1. “the wonders and how stories set hundreds of years in the future question our current way of living” Exactly!

    Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve liked everything I’ve read so far by Ursula K. LeGuin.

    That cover of Starfish is so awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this! Great answers, and a great tag.
    AND just added Starfish to my wishlist. I haven’t read anything by Peter Watts, but if you loved it, it sounds like a good place to start. 😁

    Like

Leave a comment