Top Five Wednesday : Favorite Authors I Discovered This Year

Top 5 Wednesdays was created by gingerreadslainey and if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here.

I don’t do T5W on a regular basis because I don’t like all the topics but I am all about this one, let’s get started !

5. Eleanor Catton

You may (or may not) know the 2013 Man Booker Prize winner. I read The Luminaries by her which is an historical fiction novel set in 19th century New Zealand and The Reversal  by her this year and I gave them both five stars. They were brilliant, I need more by her. Now please. She is a litterary fiction writer and even though I don’t read a lot of this genra, I found her books absolutely great. So if you want to read something this is not SFF, you know what I recommend ! 😉

4. Lord Grimdark a.k.a Joe Abercrombie

I read the First Law Trilogy this year and even though the last book of the trilogy left me a little bit bittersweet, I loved those books. While reading them, I said to myself that I will read one Abercrombie’s book a month but the ending of Last Arguments of Kings was a too much for me so I didn’t do it. Now I feel like I am ready and that I could read another of his books so I will probably read Best Served Cold near the beginning of next year !

3. Brian Staveley

I read The Emperor’s Blade at the beginning of this year and I still have not read Providence of Fire, which, I know, is insane but what can you do…. I could not put the book down while reading it and I think anyone in my family knows that I loved it ! 😉

2. Seth Dickinson

This one was easy. Go read The Traitor Baru Cormorant. (Or any of his work really). You won’t regret it !

1.N. K. Jemisin

This was also easy. Before 2015, I had never read anything by her. Now I have read all her six novels . I think that I could actually fangirl for ages about her because, she is a goddess. I stalk her blog like no one else and I am dying to read The Obelisk Gate (the sequel of the Fifth Season)… Fortunetely I haven’t read two of her shorter works based in her Inheritance trilogy world, so if one day, I can’t handle the wait, I’ll have more Jemisin to read !

I also have two honorable mentions : Marshall Ryan Maresca and Steven Erikson, they are both entirely different but still great !

What about you ? 🙂

Leave a Reply

