A quick gush or an attempted review of the Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

9520360

This book is the second book in the Heroes of Olympus series which is the spinoff of Percy Jackson.

I tried to review this book but I don’t have much to say except that I adored it. I don’t know why but I loved everything about it, I mean I liked The Lost Hero (the first book in this series), but this one was just the perfect read.

I think that this might be influenced by the fact that I read it just after The Golden Son, which was not really exactly a funny or light read to say the least and just before that I read Midnight Tides by Steven Erikson, again not a super funny read, and I think that it might have play a role in my enjoyment of this book. It has been a long time that I have not read such a funny and fast-paced adventure and it was exactly what I needed. I also really loved the fact that we saw the character of Percy Jackson, who is absolutely amazing !

I read the Percy Jackson series when I was in middle school (or the French equivalent) and I really enjoyed it, I prefered Harry Potter but it was still a nice and full of adventure story. However, to get back into this world almost ten years after is just, I don’t know, full of nostalgia maybe ?

Also, I loved all the new characters introduced and how diverse they are. One of them, Frank,is a Chinese Canadian and I really liked how his culture influenced him.

As always, Rick Riordan’s sense of humor was on point and at several point of the story, I was laughing at loud which earned me strange looks from my family. 😉

Anyway, it’s a great experience and I can’t wait to read the sequel, The Mark of Athena, asap !

★★★★★

Have you read the Percy Jackson series ? If so, do you plan on reading the Heroes of Olympus ?

Also I want to apologize for the lack of reviews, I just finished my finals so I shoud be able to read more and post more reviews 🙂

One thought on “A quick gush or an attempted review of the Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

