November Recap & December Reading Plans

I knew the end of November would be hard because of exams and group projects but, at least it was SciFi Month so it made things a bit better! I knew it would be hard for me to participate so I sadly didn’t get to post or comment on other blogs as much as I wanted to. However, I still had a lot of fun looking at other posts and I would like to congratulate the two hosts  Imryil and Lisa for their amazing work! 😀

Anyway, here are the books I read last month!

 

Books Read in November

 

  • The Black God’s Drums by P. Djéli Clark ★★★ 1/2
  • Clarkesworld #144 edited by Neil Clarke ★★★ (Goodreads review)
  • Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie ★★★★ (review coming!)
  • The Quantum Magician by Derek Künsken ★★★★1/2 (review coming!)
  • Clarkesworld #145 edited by Neil Clarke ★★★★

 

DNF

 

20518872

I really wanted to read this one but I really wasn’t enjoying it, each time I tried to read it, it felt like a chore to me. I like the hard SF parts but I didn’t care about the story at all.

The main protagonist of the second part really annoyed me, he was obsessed for no reason with a dead young woman and I just found him very creepy. I gave up on the book after the first scene taking place in the game because I was utterly bored and confused but not in a good way. I know my opinion is quite unpopular, I’m sure the story has redeeming quality but I already don’t have enough time to read the books I’m intrigued about so I’m not forcing myself to read this one.

 

Favorite Book of the Month

41140983

 

 

I didn’t know a lot about this one before going in but I ended up loving it! I plan on reviewing it this month, it’s definitely one of the best book I read this year. It’s a hard science fiction story set in a future where humans are genetically modify in order to survive in hostile environment or to be able to process data on a quantum level. It has quite a bit of sciencey parts in it but it is also a very fun and suspenseful heist story. I would highly recommend this little gem.

 

 

 

December TBR

  • The Last Good Man by Linda Nagata (review copy)
  • Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller
  • The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden
  • Fragment by Craig Russell (review copy)

I am pretty behind on my Goodreads challenge but, at this point, I’m not even bothered by it. I’ll do what I can to read but as always, college is my priority, not books (even if it’s frustrating at times). I am currently about a third into The Last Good Man by Linda Nagata and I am liking it even if it’s probably a bit too heavy for my current mood.

I hope you had a good month of November and that December will be even better! 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “November Recap & December Reading Plans

  1. Oooh, I’ve got a review copy of The Quantum Magician that I had shuffled down my TBR but your comments have just shuffled it all the way back up 😉 I’m reading specifically towards identifying my Subjective Chaos nominees and thought I’d read enough SF to feel confident I know what I’m nominating – but a mini-review like this makes it clear I’m not done yet!

    …I’m with you on The Three-Body Problem for what it’s worth. I forced myself to finish it, and it didn’t win me over. The characters were so wooden, and I was so bored. I can see why it got the accolades, but definitely not one for me either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment