Black SFF Authors You Should Read #BlackLivesMatter

I usually don’t use my blog as a platform to discuss current issues but, the events in the U.S. are too much for me to stay quiet. Racism is a huge issue and everyone should do their best to prevent it. Black lives matter, they always have and they always will.

One of the best way to fight racism is to educate yourself to the issues of others. As a white woman, I know I’m privileged in many ways. The only way to understand others is to listen to what they have to say and read their stories. Black authors are there, in each genre you want, you just have to read their books.

A few days ago Tammy, over at Books, Bones & Buffy wrote a post about her favorite books written by Black author including books written by Black authors that were on a TBR so I decided to do my take on her post. I highly recommend reading her post if you want to see other recommendations!

My favorite books written by Black authors

Toni Morrison’s Beloved is not seen as a speculative fiction story by most people but some parts contain fantastical elements so I decided to include this book. In any case, Beloved is a very powerful read and should be read by everyone.

Books by Black Authors on my TBR

 

If you want to do this take on this post, please do. It would be a great way to show some support to the Black community and amplify their voices.

What are your favorite books written by Black authors?

 

 

19 thoughts on “Black SFF Authors You Should Read #BlackLivesMatter

  1. I’m so glad you did this post, and thank you for the mention:-) It always amazes me how many books are out there, and you’ve included some that I forgot to mention in my post. So I love that bloggers are highlighting books by Black authors now, because I love finding new books to add to my TBR:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Redemption in Indigo is an awesome book – I heartily recommend you making the time for that one soon! 🙂 (Not to pressure you or anything!)
    I also have Terra-Two on my tbr and seeing Mogsy’s comment above I guess I should get on with reading that!
    A great post. I really enjoyed Tammy’s too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Terra Two for a while! I really enjoyed The Fifth Season (need to finish that trilogy…) and Rosewater was not quite my cup of tea, but it is also so incredibly different from everything I’ve read that I did appreciate reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been meaning to read Terra Two since its release and it’s on my list of books to read this year so, I really need to read it soon! 😀
      The Broken Earth trilogy is amazing, I would like to re-read it actually because I devoured the last book so, I feel like I missed a lot of things on first read. I do remember really enjoying the conclusion to this trilogy however. 🙂
      Ah, I can see why Rosewater wouldn’t be your cup of tea. I really loved it because it’s so damn brilliant and original but the main character is a bit of a self-pitying a-hole and the structure of the story with all the different timelines can be a bit confusing. I really need to the following books in the series.

      Like

      1. Yeeeah, didn’t love the main character of Rosewater lol. But I admit, I’m curious about the sequel because it appeared to be from the POV of a character I wanted to know more about, so I might try the series again some day….

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Everything I read of Nnedi Okorafor, I adore. The Book of Phoenix was my last read – the author’s imagination and inventiveness is astounding. Have now just picked up Who Fears Death for a second time, and am loving being back with the MC, Onye. I would also mention Tomi Adeyemi. Children of Blood and Bone… is epic. Great blog. Thank you for the recommendations. Not read any Octavia Butler, but on my to read. Always on the look out for more fresh voices. Great list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment