August July Wrap-Up and September Reading Plans

August is now over which means that I’ll be heading back to college very soon, I’m both happy and sad about it because I know that I won’t be able to read as much as I did this summer but at least, I will be with my friends so not everything is lost!

August was a weird month reading wise, I read some really good books but also some terrible ones and, because of them, I’m now in a reading slump (yaaay…). I started a ton of books and I can’t really bring myself to finish them… Anyway, I hope to get out of my slump sooner rather than later because I received some amazing ARCs lately and I want to get to all of them soon!

Books/SF Magazines read

  • Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wending ★★★
  • Interzone #264 ★★★★
  • It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover ★★★★
  • The Dragon Engine by Andy Remic ★
  • Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie ★★★
  • Koijiki by Keith Yastuhashi ★★★ 1/2
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★
  • Children of Time by Adrain Tchaikovski ★★★★★
  • A Little Life by Hanya Hanagihara ★
  • Interzone #265 ★★★

 

Favorite Book of the Month

25563522

I did a pretty long review of this book last month, it was very different from what I expected but in a great way. Thanks for the wonderful feedback on the review by the way , I really hope that some of you are going to read this one, it’s great!

DNF

30183216

I received an ARC of this book but I gave up on it pretty fast, it’s not bad at all but I had some issues with the main character and I had to force myself to pick it up. It took me two or three weeks to read the first quarter and I didn’t want to write a harsh review of it because I do think that fan of cyberpunk will like this book, it’s more a case of “it’s not you, it’s me”. So if this book intrigues you, give it a try, you’ll probably like it way more than me! Thanks again to Angry Robots for the opportunity of reading this book in advance.

 

 

Currently Reading & September Reading Plans

I am currently reading five books, Reaper’s Gale by Erikson, The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber, An Unnatural Alliance: Israel and South Africa by James Adams, The Apothecary’s Curse by Barbara Barnett and The Last Mortal Bond by Brian Staveley. I am almost done with  An Unnatural Alliance,  I don’t usually read nonfiction but this is really interesting so far.

I’d also like to read The World Reimagined : Americans and Human Rights in the Twentieth Century by Mark Philip Bradley which is another nonfiction book that I received through Netgalley and finally, if I have time, I would like to read A City Dreaming by Daniel Polanski and The Dream-Quest of Vellit Boe by Kij Johnson. I don’t know how many books I’ll manage to read but I’m excited about all of them!

 

What about you? What do you want to read next month? 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “August July Wrap-Up and September Reading Plans

Leave a Reply

