Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on Your TBR

118368

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and  is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes if you want to know a little bit more about them you can check the Goodreads group here


 

I haven’t done a T5W in a while but this topic was right up my alley ! In case you don’t know about The Booktube SFF Awards, it is an SFF award organised by the Booktube SFF community, they are currently doing readalongs of the different nominees and you can find more about the award here.

So here are some SFF books that I really want to read! 🙂

 

  • Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

17333324

 

I know I am probably going to adore this book, I mean it is about AIs, ships and it is supposed to be a very interesting discussion on gender and conciousness. This series have been recommended to me multiple times and I have the whole trilogy on my ereader, I just need to read it now.

 

 

  • A Tyranny of Queens by Foz Meadows

30688856

I read and loved An Accident of Stars last year, a fantastic portal fantsay books with great female characters, it was one of my favorite book of the year and I was lucky to receive an ARC of the sequel recently. If it’s near as good as the first, it will be an awesome read, it’s a book that I really need sooner rather than later!

 

 

  • The City & the City by China Miéville

 

4703581

 

I’ve read This Census-Taker, his very odd novella published last year, and, even though I can’t say that I really understood it, it was still fascinating and very atmospheric and I want to try his works and The City and the City sounds like a good place to start!

 

 

 

  • Seven Surrenders by Ada Palmer

28220647

The sequel to Too Like The Lightning is waiting on my ereader and while I want to read it badly, I think that it would probably be better for me to read the first book again because I don’t remember most of the evnts that took place in the first book and I don’t want to be too confused since a lot of things happened! By the way, I just saw that Too Like the Lightning is a Hugo finalist and I am so happy about that, I am probably going to do a post discussing the finalists in the different categories!

 

  • Making Wolf by Tade Thompson

25074040

 

I really don’t know what this book is about, I just know that Thompson wrote it so it is probably going to be excellent. I read Rosewater in January and so far, it is still my only five stars rating of 2017, I also read Gnaws last week, a horror novella part of the Five Stories High anthology and it was also excellent. His writing style is on point and so far, the three works of his that I read were all very different and really good so I hope it is also going to be the case of Making Wolf!

 

What about you ? 😀

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on Your TBR

  1. My attempt at reading “Ancillary Justice” did not end well: although I found the core idea simply fascinating, something in the story was… missing for me. But the general consensus is that this series is an amazing one, so I more than look forward to reading your review(s) 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve seen a couple of mixed reviews from people whose opinions I trust a lot but recently, I saw Ninefox Gambit compared to Ancillary Justice a lot and since I found it great, it made me want to finally read Leckie’s trilogy. I hope I like it but, as with every book, I can’t be sure I will! 😛

      Like

  2. Ancillary Justice may be the best discover I have made in five years of blogging. it is so, SO good. I want to read Foz Meadows’ books after following her blogging for years as well. The City and the City isn’t my favorite Mieville but it may be his most accessible.

    Like

    • I really need to read this book then, I don’t know why it is taking me so long to pick it up!
      An Accident of Stars pushed all the right buttons when I read it, it was the right book at the right time I guess.
      I also have The Last Days of New Paris but so I might read this one first, it will probably just depend on my mood!

      Like

Leave a Reply

