July Wrap-Up and August Reading Plans

July has been the best reading month of the year so far, I read 18 books (including novellas), 22 mangas (that I am not going to list here: they were the 22 volumes of the same series: Nana by Ai Yazawa) and I DNF 1 book. I read a lot because I am finally on holidays, and it’s basically the only thing I do. 😛

I participated in the 2016 BooktubeAThon and  I managed to read 7 books but, because of that, I am now completely and totally behind on reviews (for a change..)!

 

Books/Novellas/SF Magazines read

  • Infomocracy by Malka Older ★★★
  • Clarkesworld Magazine issue 117 ★★★
  • Clarkesworld Magazine issue 118 ★★★
  • Lullaby for A Lost World by Aliette de Bodard ★★★★
  • The Devil in America by Kai Ashante Wilson ★★★★ 1/2
  • The Waking Fire by Anthony Ryan ★★★
  • Arcadia by Ian Pears ★★★★
  • Of Sorrow and Such by Angela Slatter ★★★★
  • The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons ★★★
  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick ★★★
  • Minority Report by Philip K. Dick ★★★
  • Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor ★★★★
  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Beckie Chambers ★★★★1/2
  • Bodies of Water by V.H. Leslie ★★
  • Envy of Angels by Matt Wallace ★★★★
  • The Harlequin by Nina Allan ★★★1/2
  • How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran ★★
  • The Alchemy of Chaos by Marshall Ryan Maresca ★★★

 

Favorite Reads of the Month

Kai Ashante Wilson is slowly but surely becoming one of my favorite authors, his stories are tragic, heartbreaking and incredible. Tis story was very close to a five stars but I think that it could have been just a tiny bit shorter.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet  by Chambers was great, it was a bit too slow for me at first but the characters really grew on me and, at the end, I just wanted to live in this world and hug them all!

DNF

I did not finish Sun of Suns by Karl Schroeder, the worldbuiling was great but I couldn’t care less about the characters and the plot. It was a fast read but I didn’t want to force myself to finish it because I have a ton of other books to read!

 

Currently Reading & August Reading Plans

So, as of right now, I am reading Koijiki by Keith Yatsuhasi and I am enjoying it a lot. I would like to give another chance to Anathem by Neal Stephenson and read some review books. If I have the time, I would like to read Archangel by Marguerite Reed, I read the first couple pages last week on a whim and they intrigued me quite a bit also, I’d like to, at least, start Reaper’s Gale by Steven Erikson but I’ll see if I am in the mood for it!

 

What are your favorite reads of the month? 🙂

2 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up and August Reading Plans

Leave a Reply

